Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document

Agenda for CAC Meeting

Download Options

Released: February 23, 2012


Federal Communications Commission

445 12th Street, S.W., Room TW-C305, Washington, DC

Friday, February 24, 2012

8:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.


Morning Session

8:30 - 9:00 a.m.
Continental Breakfast & Networking
9:00 a.m.
Welcome & Call to Order
Debra Berlyn, CAC Chairperson
9:05 - 9:10 a.m.
Self Introductions
9:10 - 9:40 a.m.
Bureau Update
Kris Monteith, Acting Chief, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau
Mark Stone, Deputy Bureau Chief, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau
William Freedman, Deputy Bureau Chief, Consumer & Governmental Affairs
Geoffrey Blackwell, Chief, Office of Native Affairs and Policy, Consumer &
Governmental Affairs Bureau
9:40 – 10:10 a.m.
Update on National Broadband Plan Implementation
Josh Gottheimer, Senior Counsel, Office of the Chairman
10:10 – 10:30 a.m.
Update on Recent Report & Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
on Lifeline Link up Reform and Modernization
Kimberly Scardino, Deputy Chief, Telecommunications Access Policy
Division, Wireline Competition Bureau
10:30 - 10:40 a.m.
10:40 – 11:00 a.m.
Update from the Disability Rights Office
Karen Peltz Strauss, Deputy Bureau Chief, Consumer & Governmental Affairs

11:00 – 11:45 a.m.
Round Table Discussion on Emerging Consumer Issues
Debra Berlyn, CAC Chairperson
11:45 – 12:15 p.m.
Lunch available in Commission Meeting Room

Afternoon Session

12:15 - 1:30 p.m.
Working Group Breakout Sessions
1:30 – 1:35 p.m.
Reaffirmation of Recommendations from Nov. 4, 2011 Meeting
1:35 – 1:45 p.m.
Report Back Media Working Group
Barry Umansky, WG Chair
1:45 - 2:00 p.m.
Report Back & Recommendation of USF Working Group
Cecilia Garcia, WG Chair
2:00 – 2:10 p.m.
Report Back Consumer Empowerment Working Group
Ed Bartholme, WG Co-Chair
2:10 – 2:25 p.m.
Report Back & Recommendation of Broadband Working Group
Chris Baker & Mark Defalco, WG Co-Chairs
2:25 – 2:35 p.m.
Report Back Disability Working Group
Lise Hamlin & Paul Schroeder, WG Co-Chairs
2:35 – 2:40 p.m.
Comments from the Public
2:40 – 3:00 p.m.
Wrap up and Next Meeting
3:00 p.m.



Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.