Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document

FCC Announces Members of Interoperability Board

Download Options

Released: March 22, 2012


Federal Communications Commission

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500

445 12th St., S.W.


Washington, D.C. 20554

TTY: 1-888-835-5322


DA 12-455
Released: March 22, 2012



Washington, DC – This Public Notice serves as notice that, pursuant to Section 6203(b)(1)(A) of
the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012 (Spectrum Act),1 Federal
Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) Chairman Julius Genachowski has
appointed the following fourteen persons to serve on Technical Advisory Board for First
Responder Interoperability (Interoperability Board). For each member we identify the statutory
category under which that member has been selected pursuant to Section 6203(b)(1)(A) of the
Spectrum Act.2
Steve Proctor, Executive Director, Utah Communications Agency Network (See Section
Colonel Kenneth C. Hughes, Jr., (Ret), Regional Communications Coordinator, New
Orleans Urban Area Security Initiative (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(iii))
Brian Shepherd, Deputy Director, Adams County (Colorado) Communication Center
(See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(iii)(I))
Todd Bianchi, Firefighter Paramedic, Washington, District of Columbia Fire and EMS
Department (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(iii)(II))
· Jim Kohler, Deputy Director, Enterprise Technology Services, Alaska Department of
Administration, State of Alaska (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(iv))
· Brenda L. Decker, Chief Information Officer, State of Nebraska (See Section
· Charles L. K. Robinson, Director, Business Support Services, City of Charlotte, North
Carolina (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(iv))
· Bob Azzi, Senior Vice President, Network, Sprint Nextel Corporation (See Section
· Diane C. Wesche, Director, Government Network & Technology, Verizon Wireless (See
Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(i)(I))

1 See Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012 § 6203(b)(1)(A), Pub. L. No. 112-96, 126 Stat. 156
2 See id. § 6203(b)(1)(A).

Ed Chao, Senior Vice President, Corporate Engineering and Network Operations,
MetroPCS Communications, Inc. (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(i)(II)))
Ron Strecker, Chief Executive Officer, Panhandle Telephone Cooperative, Inc., and
Panhandle Telecommunications Systems, Inc. (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(i)(III))
Kenneth C. Budka, Senior Director, Advanced Mission-Critical Communications, Bell
Labs Chief Technology Office, Alcatel-Lucent (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(ii))
Dennis Martinez, Chief Technology Officer, RF Communications Division, Harris
Corporation (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(ii))
Paul Steinberg, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Motorola Solutions,
Inc. (See Section 6203(b)(1)(A)(ii))
Pursuant to Section 6203(b)(1)(B), the National Telecommunications and Information
Administration (NTIA) has selected Dereck Orr of the National Institute of Standards
Technology (NIST) to serve as the Interoperability Board’s fifteenth, non-voting member.3
Section 6203(c) of the Spectrum Act charges the Interoperability Board with developing, in
consultation with NTIA, NIST and the Department of Homeland Security’s Office of Emergency
Communications, “recommended minimum technical requirements to ensure a nationwide level
of interoperability for the nationwide public safety broadband network.”4 The Interoperability
Board must submit these recommendations to the Commission within ninety days of the date the
Act was enacted, i.e., by May 22, 2012.5
The Interoperability Board’s members were selected from a large pool of qualified applicants.
The Chairman thanks each of these members in advance for their substantial commitment of time
and energy to serve on the Interoperability Board. The Chairman also thanks those applicants
not selected for their interest in serving and for their continued dedication to nationwide
For further information, please contact Jennifer A. Manner, Deputy Chief, Public Safety and
Homeland Security Bureau, at 202-418-3619 or
- FCC -

3 See id. § 6203(b)(1)(B).
4 See id. § 6203(c).
5 See id. § 6203(c)(1).

Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.