Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document

Interoperability Board Announces Agenda for April 23 Public Workshop

Download Options

Released: April 18, 2012


Federal Communications Commission

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500

445 12th St., S.W.


Washington, D.C. 20554

TTY: 1-888-835-5322


DA 12-617
Released: April 18, 2012



Washington, DC – This Public Notice announces the agenda for the public workshop that the
Technical Advisory Board for First Responder Interoperability (Interoperability Board) will hold on April
23, 2012 from 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. at Federal Communications Commission (Commission)
headquarters, 445 12th St, SW, Washington, D.C., 20554. The purpose of this workshop is to collect
additional input on topic areas that the Interoperability Board has determined are relevant to the
development of minimum technical requirements to ensure a nationwide level of interoperability for the
nationwide public safety broadband network.1
The Interoperability Board was established under the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation
Act of 2012 (Spectrum Act) to develop recommended minimum technical requirements to ensure a
nationwide level of interoperability for a nationwide public safety broadband network.2 Pursuant to the
Spectrum Act, the Interoperability Board must submit these recommendations to the Commission by May
22, 2012.3 The Commission must then transmit these recommendations with possible revisions to the
First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet), the entity the Spectrum Act charges with overseeing the
development of the network.4 The Spectrum Act then requires FirstNet to incorporate the recommended
requirements, without material change, into its Requests for Proposals (RFPs) to construct, operate and
manage the network.5
The workshop will consist of four, 45-minute moderated panel discussions.


9:00 a.m.

Welcoming Remarks:

Jamie Barnett, Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security
9:10 a.m.

Introductory Remarks:

Chris Essid, Director, Office of Emergency Communications,
U.S. Department of Homeland Security

1 See Technical Advisory Board for First Responder Interoperability Announces Public Workshop Scheduled for April 23, 2012,
Public Notice, DA 12-538 (rel. Apr. 3, 2012).
2 See Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012 § 6203(c)(1), Pub. L. No. 112-96, 126 Stat. 156 (2012).
3 Id.
4 Id. § 6203(c)(3).
5 Id. § 6206(b)(1)(B).

9:15 a.m.

Introduction of the Members of the Interoperability Board
Opening Remarks:

Charles Robinson, City of Charlotte, NC; Chairman of the

Interoperability Board
9:30 a.m.

Panel 1: The Scope of the Recommendations Developed by the Interoperability


Brian Fontes, CEO, National Emergency Number Association
Anna Gomez, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information,
National Telecommunications and Information Administration
Robert LeGrande, Advisor to the City of Baton Rouge, LA
Jeff Cohen, Chief Counsel – Law and Policy Director of Government Relations,
Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO)
Moderator: Charles Robinson, City of Charlotte, NC; Chairman Interoperability
10:15 a.m.

Panel 2: Standards, Interfaces, Guidelines; User Equipment and Device

Management; Network Evolution

Tom Sorley, Chair, National Public Safety Telecommunications Council
(NPSTC) Technology Committee
Ajit Kahaduwe, Head of Industry Environment – North America, Nokia Siemens
Patrik Ringqvist, Vice President, Wireless Network Solutions, Ericsson
Martin Dolly, Lead Member of the Technical Staff, Core Network and
Government Regulatory Standards, AT&T
Moderator: Paul Steinberg, Motorola Solutions, Member of the Interoperability
11:00 a.m.


11:15 a.m.

Panel 3: Mobility and Handover; Grade of Service; Prioritization and Quality of


Pat Amodio, Chief Engineer, DHS Joint Wireless Program Management Office,
U.S. Customs and Border Protection
Roger Quayle, Chief Technology Officer and Co-Founder, IPWireless
· Robert Wilson, Telecommunications Manager, Wyoming Department of
Transportation, State of Wyoming
· Scott C. Somers, Vice Mayor, Mesa City Council, City of Mesa, AZ
· Moderator: Kenneth Budka, Alcatel-Lucent, Vice Chairman of the
Interoperability Board
12:00 p.m.

Panel 4: Security

· Mark Adams, Director, Principal Architect, Networks and Communications,
Northrop Grumman
· Thomas Farley, Senior Systems Engineer, Network Centric Systems, Raytheon
· Matt Schnell, Supervisor of Telecommunications, Nebraska Public Power
· Mark Althouse, Technical Director – Mobility Mission Management, National

Security Administration
Moderator: Brian Shepherd, Adams County, Colorado, Member of the
Interoperability Board
12:45 p.m.

Closing Remarks:

Kenneth Budka, Alcatel-Lucent; Vice Chairman, Interoperability
The workshop will be open to the public; however, admittance will be limited to the seating
available. Individuals interested in attending this event must pre-register on-line at, where they will be asked to provide their name, title,
organization affiliation, and contact information. Individuals may also contact Deandrea Wilson at or via phone at 202-418-0703 regarding pre-registration. The deadline for pre-
registration is Friday, April 20, 2012.
At the request of the Interoperability Board, the Commission has established a public docket, PS
Docket 12-74, in which parties may submit materials for the Interoperability Board’s consideration.
Audio/video coverage of the forum will be broadcast live with open captioning over the Internet
from the FCC's web page at The FCC’s webcast is free to the public. Those who
watch the live video stream of the event may email event-related questions to
Depending on the volume of questions and time constraints, the panel moderators will work to respond to
as many questions as possible during the workshop. A transcript of this Workshop will be made available
in PS Docket 12-74.
Reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities are available upon request. Please
include a description of the accommodation you will need. Individuals making such requests must include
their contact information should FCC staff need to contact them for more information. Requests should be
made as early as possible. Please send an e-mail to or call the Consumer &
Governmental Affairs Bureau: 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (TTY).
For additional information about the meeting, please contact Jennifer A. Manner, Deputy Chief,
Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, at 202-418-3619 or

Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.