Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options


Broadband Summit 2013

February 7, 2013, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST
445 12th Street, SW, Commission Meeting Room (TW-C305), Washington, DC 20554

Broadband Summit: Broadband Adoption and Usage - What Have We Learned?

The Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Services, with the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), held a Summit on February 7, 2013 to identify and discuss best practices learned from broadband adoption programs and academic studies/surveys, and how implementation of these best practices can close the broadband adoption gap among Americans – particularly low-income households, racial and ethnic minorities, seniors, rural residents, residents of Tribal lands and people with disabilities. The agenda listing committed and invited panelists for the Summit is below. In addition, the Summit included a keynote speech by Assistant Secretary of Communications and Information and Administrator of NTIA, Department of Commerce, Lawrence E. Strickling.

Related Materials

Power Point Presentations

Planning Committee Members

  • Commissioner Geoffrey G. Why
    Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable
  • Angie Kronenberg, Wireline Legal Advisor
    Office of FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn
  • Garnet Hanly, Attorney Advisor
    Telecommunications Access Policy Division, Wireline Competition Bureau, FCC
  • Laura Breeden, Program Director for Public Computing and Broadband Adoption
  • Kalun Lee, Deputy General Counsel
    Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable



You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.