Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options


En Banc Hearing on Spectrum Management

April 6, 1999, 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM EDT

Spectrum Management - April 6, 1999

Public Notice 

The FCC held a series of en banc presentations to the five FCC Commissioners on various communications policy issues. The purpose of this en banc series, was to educate and inform the Commissioners, FCC staff, and the public about differing perspectives on current issues in telecommunications policy. The presentations were held as a part of regular open agenda meetings.


Introductory Remarks

9:00 - 9:10

Panel 1: Spectrum Management Fundamentals

9:10 - 10:10

Panelists: :

  • Dale Hatfield, Chief, OET, FCC [ Slide Presentation ]
  • Bruce Franca, Deputy Chief, OET, FCC [ Slide Presentation ]
  • Tom Sugrue, Chief, WTB, FCC [ Slide Presentation ]
  • Tom Tycz, Chief, Satellite and Radiocommunications Division, IB, FCC [ Testimony: Text | Word | Slide Presentation ]
  • William T. Hatch, Acting Associate Administrator, Office of Spectrum Management, NTIA
  • Robert Pepper, Chief, OPP, FCC

Panel 2: Spectrum Management Today: What Works and What Doesn't Work

10:15 - 11:30


  • Lynn Claudy, Senior Vice President of the Science and Technology Department, NAB
  • Mark Crosby, President, Industrial Telecommunications Association
  • Mike Kennedy, Corporate Vice President and Director, Motorola Inc. [ Testimony: Acrobat ]
  • Henry M. Rivera, Shook, Hardy & Bacon [ Testimony: Acrobat ]
  • Phil Salas, Director of Radio Technology, Alcatel USA [ Slide Presentation ]
  • John Stanton, CEO, Western Wireless Corporation
  • Leslie Taylor,President, Leslie Taylor Associates [ Slide Presentation ]


11:30 - 11:45

Panel 3: New Approaches to Spectrum Management

11:45 - 1:00


  • Thomas W. Hazlett, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research; and Professor, University of California, Davis (invited)
  • Dewayne Hendricks, General Manager Wireless Business Unit, Com 21, Inc.
  • Dr. Charles L. Jackson, Jackson Associates
  • Kalle Kontson, Vice President and Division Manager, IIT Research Institute [ Slide Presentation ]
  • Joseph Mitola III, Consulting Scientist, The MITRE Corporation
  • Dr. Eli Noam, Professor of Finance & Economics, Columbia University
  • Ralph Petroff, President & Chief Executive Officer, Time Domain Corporation

You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.