

## "Exploring Strategies That Have Advanced Media Diversity" Broadcast Symposium CO-SPONSORED BY THE

## MEDIA BUREAU AND THE

## BROADCAST DIVERSITY AND DEVELOPMENT WORKING GROUP OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY AND DIGITAL EMPOWERMENT

Federal Communications Commission
445 12<sup>th</sup> Street, S.W., Room TW-C305, Washington, D.C. 20554

March 7, 2019 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

9:00 am: **Introduction** 

Sarah Whitesell, Deputy Bureau Chief, Media Bureau

FCC Chairman Ajit Pai

Remarks

Kristen Welker, NBC News White House Correspondent

**Welcome Remarks** 

FCC Commissioner Michael O'Reilly FCC Commissioner Geoffrey Starks

Diane Sutter, Chair, ACDDE

Henry Rivera, Chair, Broadcast Diversity and Development Working Group,

**ACDDE** 

9:45 am — Panel 1: Success Stories from Pioneers

10:30 am: Moderators: Sherman Kizart, Managing Director and Founder, Kizart Media

Partners and Suzanne Gougherty, Director, MMTC Broadcasting, LLC *Panelists:* Steven C. Roberts, President, Roberts Radio Broadcasting; Raúl Alarcón, Chairman/CEO, Spanish Broadcasting System; Russell M. Perry, Founder/Chairman, Perry Publishing and Broadcasting; Johnny Shaw,

Founder/CEO, Shaw Broadcasting, LLC

10:30 am — Panel 2: Success Stories from Today's Radio Entrepreneurs 11:15 am:

Moderators: Sara Lomax-Reese, President/CEO, WURD Radio; Michelle Duke,

Vice President, NAB Education Foundation

Panelists: Dr. Nimisha Shukla, CEO, South Asian Broadcasting; Pedro Zamora, President, Zamora Entertainment; Chesley Maddox-Dorsey, CEO, American Urban Radio Networks; Melody Spann Cooper, Chair, Midway Broadcasting Group, WVON Chicago; Mark Lipp, Partner, Fletcher, Heald & Hildreth

12:00 pm Moderator: Dr. Nicol Turner-Lee, Fellow, Brookings Institution

> Panelists: DuJuan McCoy, President/CEO, Bayou City Broadcasting; Ernesto Schweikert, President, Crocodile Broadcasting; Maxwell Agha, CEO, ICN-FV;

Don Jackson, Chairman/CEO, Central City Productions; Jeff Chang,

Panel 3: Success Stories from Today's Television Entrepreneurs

President/CEO, Chang Media Group

12:00 pm — Remarks

11:15 pm —

1:15 pm:

12:05 pm: FCC Commissioner Brendan Carr

12:05 pm — **Lunch/Networking Break** 

1:15 pm — Panel 4: Success Stories from Today's Broadband and OTT Entrepreneurs 2:00 pm and Content Providers

> Moderators: Dr. Jannette Dates, Dean Emerita, Howard University School of Communications; Alfredo Rodriguez, Vice President, DISHLatino

Panelists: Frank Washington, Broadcast Investor; Victor Cerda, Senior VP, v-me Media; Paula Madison, Chairman/CEO, Madison Media Management, LLC; Dr. Sheila Brooks, Founder/CEO, SRB Communications, LLC; Augusto

Valdez, Principal, Condista

2:00 pm -**Panel 5: How Diverse Entrepreneurs Can Use Mergers and Acquisitions** 2:45 pm as an Opportunity for Entry and Growth

Moderators: James Winston, President, NABOB; Brent Wilkes,

President/Founder, Wilkes Strategies

Panelists: David Honig, President Emeritus, MMTC; DuJuan McCoy,

President/CEO, Bayou City Broadcasting; Jane Mago, former General Counsel,

NAB; Caroline Beasley, CEO, Beasley Media Group, LLC

2:45 pm – **Networking Break** 3:00 pm

3:00 pm –	Panel 6: The Important Role of Lenders and Investors in
3:45 pm	Creating Success Stories
	Moderators: John Oxendine, President/CEO, Blackstar, LLC; Ronald Busby,
	President/CEO, U.S. Black Chambers, Inc.
	Panelists: Deana Myers, Research Director, TMT Kagan; Garret Komjathy,
	Senior V.P., Media & Communications Division, U.S. Bank; Daniel J. Damon,
	Managing Director, Loan Capital Markets, U.S. Bank; Brian McNeill, Managing
	Director, Alta Communications
3:45 pm –	Panel 7: The Important Role of Incubators and Mentors in Creating
4:30 pm	Success Stories
	Moderators: Orlando Rosales, President, Media Vista Group; Dr. Ronald
	Johnson, Advisor, Wireless Infrastructure Association
	Panelists: Jeffrey Smulyan, Chairman/CEO, Emmis Communications; Brian
	Lawlor, President, E.W. Scripps TV Stations Group; Kim Guthrie, President,
	Cox Media Group
4:30 pm –	Panel 8: Success Stories from Organizations Whose Mission It is to Foster
5:15 pm	Minority and Women Entrepreneurs
	Moderator: Marcellus Alexander, President, NAB Education Foundation
	Panelists: Diane Sutter, President/CEO, ShootingStar Broadcasting; Maria
	Brennan, President/CEO, Women in Cable Telecommunications; Dr. Rahsaan
	Harris, President, Emma Bowen Foundation for Minority Interests in Media
5:15 pm –	Closing Remarks
5:20 pm	Diane Sutter, Chair, ACDDE
	Jamila Bess Johnson, Designated Federal Officer, ACDDE
5:20 pm –	Networking Session
6:00 pm	