Disability Advisory Committee (DAC)

Meeting Minutes

April 26, 2023

Certified by DAC Co-Chair Kyle Dixon — May 4, 2023

On April 26, 2023, at 1:00 p.m. EDT, the first virtual meeting of the fifth term of the DAC was called to order by DAC Co-Chairs Kim Charlson of the Perkins School for the Blind and Kyle Dixon of NCTA – the Internet & Television Association.

Commissioner Geoffrey Starks welcomed the members of the new DAC term. He discussed the importance of access to communication technology and expressed gratitude to the DAC and staff of the Consumer and Government Affairs Bureau (CGB) on their accomplishments. Commissioner Nathan Simington discussed accommodations in the digital age and functional equivalents of AI services.

Alejandro Roark, CGB Chief, welcomed the members and introduced the DAC Co-Chairs. He then expressed gratitude to DAC members for their commitment and collaboration. Diane Burstein, CGB Deputy Bureau Chief, expressed her gratitude next.

Joshua Mendelsohn, DAC Designated Federal Officer (DFO), summarized the DAC meeting communications protocols and housekeeping rules. DAC Co-Chair Kyle Dixon then led a roll call of members, where the DAC members introduced themselves and their organizational affiliations and made any necessary disclosures.

Suzy Rosen Singleton, Chief of the Disability Rights Office (DRO), Will Schell, DRO Deputy Chief, and Eliot Greenwald, DRO Deputy Chief, shared briefings from DRO and discussed topics of interest, including matters concerning video programming, emergency communications, and modern communications.

Paula Silberthau, Attorney Advisor with the Office of General Counsel presented on general Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) matters. Darice Gamble from the Office of the Managing Director then discussed record retention obligations.

The meeting opened for public participation. There were no public questions or comments. Closing remarks were made by DAC Co-Chairs Kim Charlson and Kyle Dixon.

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

April 26, 2023

Organization	Representative
American Association of the DeafBlind	John Winstead
(AADB)	
American Council of the Blind (ACB)	Clark Rachfal
American Foundation for the Blind (AFB)	Sarah Malaier
Amazon.com, Inc.	Shadi Abou-Zahra
	Kristine Hackman
Apple, Inc.	James Craig
	Megan Stull
The Arc	Katy Schmid

AT&T Corporation	Linda Vandeloop
-	Susan Mazrui
Cerebral Palsy and Deaf Organization (CPADO)	Mark Hill
City of Boston, Mayor's Commission for Persons with Disabilities	Carl Richardson
ClearCaptions, LLC	Michael Strecker
	Matthew Palmer
Comcast NBCUniversal	Tom Wlodkowski
	Crystal Evans
	Jerry Parkins
	Richard Wikoff
Communication Service for the Deaf (CSD)	Juli Robinson
	Karen Peltz Strauss
Consumer Technology Association (CTA)	Rachel Sanford Nemeth
Convo Communications, LLC	Tommy Horejes
CTIA - the Wireless Association	Sarah Leggin
	Avonne Bell
Dicapta	Maria Victoria Diaz
Hamilton Relay, Inc.	Beth Slough
Hearing Loss Association of America	Lise Hamlin
(HLAA)	Brian Meyer
Helen Keller National Center (HKNC)	Scott Davert
	Christopher Woodfill
InnoCaption	Cristina Duarte
	Paul Lee
National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)	Joshua N. Pila
	Larry Walke
National Association of the Deaf (NAD	Zainab Alkebsi
National Association of State Agencies	Annie Urasky
Serving Deaf and Hard of Hearing	Eric Raff
(NASADHH)	
National Captioning Institute (NCI)	Darlene Parker
	Beth Nubbe
	Meredith Patterson
National Emergency Number Association (NENA)	Richard Ray
National Federation of the Blind (NFB)	Everette Bacon
NCTA – The Internet & Television	Kyle Dixon
Association	Radhika Bhat
Perkins School for the Blind	Kim Charlson
	Kristyn Leigh
Sorenson Communications, LLC	Michael Maddix
	Adriana Featherstone

Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of	Mark Seeger
Hearing, Inc. (TDI)	Blake Reid
T-Mobile USA, Inc.	Shellie Blakeney
	Dennis Selznick
University of Pittsburgh Rehabilitation	Dan Ding
Engineering Research Center on Wireless	Lindsey Morris
Technologies for People with Disabilities	
Verizon Communications, Inc	Ian Dillner
VITAC	Scott Ready
ZP Better Together, LLC	Mark Stern
U.S. Access Board	Timothy P. Creagan
	Bruce Bailey
U.S. Department of Education	Brianne Burger
	Eric Caruso
U.S. Department of Health and Human	Lisa Bothwell
Services	Timothy Beatty
U.S. Department of Homeland Security	Gay Jones
U.S. Department of Transportation	Brian Tegtmeyer

CGB Staff Speakers

Alejandro Roark
Diane Burstein
Suzy Rosen Singleton
Eliot Greenwald
Will Schell
Josh Mendelsohn