Minutes of the March 2023 CSRIC VIII Quarterly Meeting

Date

03/21/2023

Location

45 L Street NE, Washington, DC 20554

Attendance

Billy Bob Brown, Jr., Executive Assistant Director for Emergency Communications *Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency*

Nasrin Rezai, Senior Vice President & Chief Information Security Officer *Verizon Communications*

Brandon Abley, Director of Technology National Emergency Number Association

Rob Alderfer, Vice President, Technology Policy Charter Communications

Colin B. Andrews, Senior Director, Government Affairs *Telecommunications Industry Association*

Mark Annas, Emergency Services Administrator City of Riverside Fire Department, Office of Emergency Management

Mike Barnes, Product Security Officer & Quality Leader *Mavenir*

Michael Bergman, Vice President, Technology and Standards Consumer Technology Association

Donna Bethea-Murphy, Senior Vice President, Global Regulatory Affairs Inmarsat

Shirley Bloomfield, Chief Executive Officer NTCA-The Rural Broadband Association

Mary A. Boyd, Vice President, Government Regulatory Affairs *Intrado*

Wade Buckner, Chief, City of Southside Fire & Rescue* International Association of Fire Chiefs

Brian K. Daly, Assistant Vice President *AT&T, Inc.*

Marla Dowell, Director, Communications Technology Laboratory National Institute of Standards and Technology

Andrew L. Drozd, President & Chief Scientist ANDRO Computational Solutions

Katherine Elkins, Emergency Medical Services Specialist National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation

Harold Feld, Senior Vice President *Public Knowledge*

Craig Fugate, Chief Emergency Management Officer America's Public Television Stations

Micaela Giuhat, Director, 5G Policy and External Engagement *Microsoft Corporation*

Martin Goldberg, Standards Lead National Security Agency

Ben Goldsmith, Principal Scientific Officer U.S. Department of Justice

Dana Golub, Vice President, Technology Business Operations Public Broadcasting Service

Stephen Hayes, Vice President of Standards *Ericsson*

Mark Hess, Senior Vice President, Business and Industry Affairs Comcast Corporation

Craig Hodan, Chief of Dissemination Systems National Weather Service

Javed Khan, Director, 5G Product Management *Altiostar Networks*

Farrokh Khatibi, Director, Technical Standards *Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.*

Jason Lish, Chief Security Officer *Lumen Technologies, Inc.*

Jennifer Manner, Senior Vice President, Regulatory Affairs Hughes Communications

Tim May, Senior Advisor National Telecommunications and Information Administration Maureen C. Mclaughlin, Vice President, Public Policy, Iridium* Satellite Industry Association

Danny McPherson, Executive Vice President & Chief Security Officer *Verisign, Inc.*

William Mikucki, Vice President, Technical Operations, Safety and Securities Technologies *Comtech Telecommunications Corp.*

Susan Miller, President & CEO Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions

Mark Reddish, Senior Counsel & Manager, Government Relations Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials

Travis Reutter, Director, Network Management, Metronet* ACA Connects- America's Communications Association

John Roese, Global Chief Technology Officer Dell Technologies

Travis Russell, Head, Cybersecurity Office *Oracle Communications*

Francisco Sánchez, Jr., Associate Administrator, Office of Disaster Assistance *Small Business Administration*

Tom Sawanobori, Senior Vice President & Chief Technology Officer CTIA

Tim Schram, Commissioner, Nebraska Public Service Commission* National Association of Regulatory Utility Commission

Paul Steinberg, Senior Vice President, Technology Motorola Solutions

Padma Sudarsan, Director of Radio Access Network Architecture *VMWare, Inc.*

Peter Tomczak, Program Manager, Spectrum Coordination and Clearance *FirstNet Authority*

Claire Vishik, Intel Fellow & Chief Technology Officer, Global Government Affairs *Intel*

Steve Watkins, Executive Director, Strategic Technology Policy *Cox Communications*

Cecily Wolfe, Coordinator of the Advanced National Seismic System US Geological Survey

George Woodward, President & CEO of Trilogy Networks* Rural Wireless Association

Henry Young, Director, Policy *BSA* | *The Software Alliance*

Drew Morin, Director, Federal Cyber Security Technology and Engineering Programs *T-Mobile*

*Member Represents the Association Listed Below Their Name

Matters Discussed

The following reports were presented, discussed, and voted on during this meeting.

- Report on 911 Services over Wi-Fi
- Report on WEA Application Programming Interface

The following working groups presented their work progress to the council

- WG1: 5G Signaling Protocols Security
- WG3: Leveraging Virtualization Technology to Promote Secure, Reliable 5G Networks Co-chairs Micaela Giuhat, Microsoft & John Roese, Dell
- WG5: Managing Software & Cloud Services Supply Chain Security for Comm. Infrastructure

Reports

- <u>CSRIC VIII Report On WEA Application Programming Interface (March 2023)</u>
- <u>CSRIC VIII Report On 911 Service Over WI-FI (March 2023)</u>

Recommendations

• Recommendations are in each of the council reports.

Supporting Materials

Meeting video link - <u>https://www.fcc.gov/news-events/events/2023/03/communications-security-</u> reliability-and-interoperability-council-viii

CSRIC website containing meeting announcements, presentation slides, and reports - <u>https://www.fcc.gov/about-fcc/advisory-committees/communications-security-reliability-and-interoperability-council-1</u>

Meeting Minutes Certified by CSRIC VIII Co-Chairs:

Billy Bob Brown, Jr., Executive Assistant Director for Emergency Communications *Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency*

Nasrin Rezai, Senior Vice President & Chief Information Security Officer *Verizon Communications*