Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) Meeting Minutes September 24, 2019

Certified by Brian Scarpelli – October 23, 2019

On September 24, 2019, the second meeting of the third term of the DAC was opened by DAC Co-Chair Brian Scarpelli of ACT | The App Association. Welcoming remarks were given by Patrick Webre, Chief of the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB). Mr. Webre recognized the hard work performed by the two working groups of the DAC. Diane Burstein, Deputy Bureau Chief of CGB also provided welcoming remarks and acknowledged the efforts of the working group chairs and the co-chairs of the DAC. Next, Will Schell, DAC Designated Federal Officer (DFO), followed up with welcoming remarks of his own. Mr. Schell also thanked CTIA for its sponsorship of refreshments and lunch.

Roll call was taken and followed by updates from Suzy Rosen Singleton, Chief of the Disability Rights Office (DRO) and Eliot Greenwald, Deputy Chief of DRO, on DRO's recent activities. Some of the DRO updates discussed included the winners of the 2019 Chairman's Awards for Advancement in Accessibility, updates to the FCC's 504 handbook and Electronic Comment Filing System, emergency access activities, hearing aid compatibility rules, the National DeafBlind Equipment Distribution Program, video description activities, captioning on television, broadband mapping, Video Relay Service (VRS) at-home call handling pilot program, VRS Modernization Report and Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, the North American Numbering Council Interoperable Video Calling Working Group, Telephone Relay Service (TRS) Rate Order, Internet Protocol Caption Telephone Service (IP CTS) applications for certification, and the TRS Rule clean-up item.

Next, the DAC heard from Carl Richardson, representing the City of Boston and Chair of one of the two working groups, who gave a report and read a recommendation regarding the availability of television listings of audio described programming. After deliberation and an amendment, the recommendation was voted upon and passed as amended.

Next, the DAC heard from Zainab Alkebsi, representing the National Association of the Deaf and Chair of the other working group, on a report and recommendation regarding real-time text (RTT) integration with point-to point videophone calls. After deliberation and some amendments, the recommendation was voted upon and passed as amended.

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman, Ajit Pai, addressed the DAC and thanked members for their participation. The Chairman stated that he looked forward to seeing the DAC's recommendations. Chairman Pai remarked on the FCC's commitment to accessibility and the recent FCC activities in the accessibility space.

Then, the DAC heard again from Ms. Alkebsi, on a report and recommendation regarding RTT Integration with VRS. After deliberation, the recommendation was voted upon and passed.

Next, CTIA presented on their updated website: accesswireless.org. This website helps people with disabilities find the accessibility features they need in wireless phones and devices.

The meeting was opened for public comment, and one person commented about video description.

Closing remarks were made by the Co-Chairs, Mr. Niyongabo and Mr. Scarpelli, and Mr. Schell, DFO.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:00 PM.

Disability Advisory Committee Members in Attendance September 24, 2019

Last Name	First Name	Organization Represented
Alkebsi	Zainab	National Association of the Deaf
Bacon	Everette	National Federation of the Blind
Blakeney	Shellie	T-Mobile USA
Burger	Brianne	U.S. Department of Education
Creagan	Tim	U.S. Access Board
Davis	Townsend	ABC, Inc./The Walt Disney Company
Diaz	Maria	Dicapta
Dillner	lan	Verizon Communications, Inc.
Gerst	Matt	CTIA - the Wireless Association
Hamlin	Lise	Hearing Loss Association of America
Hlibok	Gregory	CSDVRS, LLC
Holmes	Pamela	Ultratec, Inc.
Joehl	Samuel	Level Access
Jones	Gay	U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Kirby	Maria	Apple, Inc.
Maddix	Michael	Sorenson Communications, LLC
Malaier	Sarah	American Foundation for the Blind
Niyongabo	Isidore	National Black Deaf Advocates
Parker	Darlene	National Captioning Institute, Inc.
Richardson	Carl	City of Boston
Rosen	Jeff	Convo Communications, LLC
Rosenthal	Rebecca	National Association for State Relay Administration
Scarpelli	Brian	ACT - the App Association
Schroeder	Paul	Aira Tech Corporation
Selznick	Dennis	Sprint Corporation
Snyder	Joel	Audio Description Associates, LLC
Srinivasan	Amita	DeafBlind Citizens in Action
Stephens	Anthony	American Council of the Blind
Stout	Claude	Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Inc.
Strecker	Michael	ClearCaptions
Trager	Brian	Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID Center on Access Technology
Vandeloop	Linda	AT&T Services, Inc.

Vogler	Christian	Gallaudet Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center
Wlodkowski	Thomas	Comcast
York	Heather	VITAC
Ziegler	Dixie	Hamilton Relay, Inc.

CGB Staff

Patrick Webre
Diane Burstein
Suzy Rosen Singleton
Eliot Greenwald
Debra Patkin
Will Schell