Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) Meeting Minutes April 10, 2019

Certified by Isidore Niyongabo – April 24, 2019

On April 10, 2019, the inaugural meeting of the third term of the DAC was opened by DAC Co-Chair Isidore Niyongabo of National Black Deaf Advocates. Welcoming remarks were given by Michael Carowitz, Special Counsel to Chairman Ajit Pai. Mr. Carowitz affirmed the Commission's commitment to ensuring accessibility for 21st century communications products and services. He also stated that the Commission has directly benefitted from the DAC's recommendations. Will Schell, DAC Designated Federal Officer (DFO), followed up with welcoming remarks of his own. Mr. Schell also thanked T-Mobile for its sponsorship of refreshments and lunch.

Next, FCC Commissioner Michael O'Rielly welcomed the DAC and expressed his appreciation for DAC members' commitment to serve on the committee for the next two years. Commissioner O'Rielly described technology as a 'great equalizer' for individuals with disabilities and shared his view that the future of technology should focus more on mainstreaming accessible technology, and less on dedicated services and proprietary equipment. He also highlighted some of the economic challenges in the provision of accessible technology and services, in particular, telecommunications relay services. Commissioner O'Rielly then answered a few questions from DAC members.

Mr. Schell provided an overview of the DAC, including a brief history of the Federal Advisory Committee Act and the structure of the DAC and its working groups. Gerard Williams, FCC Section 504 Compliance Officer, explained standard communications protocols to ensure accessibility for DAC meetings.

Barbara Esbin welcomed the DAC and introduced the Co-Chairs of the third term of the DAC: Mr. Niyongabo and Brian Scarpelli of ACT – the App Association. The Co-Chairs shared more information about themselves. DAC members next individually introduced themselves and their organizational affiliations, in a roll call of members present.

After a break, Suzy Rosen Singleton, Chief of the Disability Rights Office (DRO), provided an overview on the Disability Rights Office and its work around modern communications, emergency communications, and video programming and its stakeholder engagement activities. Theodore Marcus was introduced as a Deputy Chief of DRO who focuses on DRO's complaint process, and April Jackson was introduced as the DRO's Direct Video Calling Technician. Ms. Rosen Singleton also provided highlights of DRO's recent activities, including updates on accessible emergency alerts and communication, the CVAA biennial report to Congress, and hearing aid compatibility. Eliot Greenwald, Deputy Chief of the DRO, provided updates on the DRO's activities regarding Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS), including updates on Video Relay Service (VRS) and Internet Protocol Captioned Telephone Services (IP CTS). Ms. Rosen Singleton and Mr. Greenwald answered a few questions from DAC members.

Next, Paula Silberthau, Attorney Advisor, Commission's Office of General Counsel, explained the Federal Advisory Committee Act, and its requirements for the DAC and its working groups, including its notice and open meeting requirements for full DAC meetings.

The meeting was opened for public comment, and no one provided public comments.

The DAC was welcomed by Commissioner Geoffrey Starks. Commissioner Starks expressed his interest in the work of the DAC and stressed the how important the DAC's recommendations are to the FCC's rulemaking activities. He answered a few questions from the DAC.

Closing remarks were made by the Co-Chairs, Mr. Niyongabo and Mr. Scarpelli, and Mr. Schell, DFO.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 12:00 PM.

Last Name	First Name	Organization Represented
Alkebsi	Zainab	National Association of the Deaf
Behm	Gary	Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID Center on Access Technology
Blakeney	Shellie	T-Mobile USA
Burger	Brianne	U.S. Department of Education
Creagan	Tim	U.S. Access Board
Davis	Townsend	ABC, Inc./The Walt Disney Company
Diaz	Maria	Dicapta
Dillner	lan	Verizon Communications, Inc.
Rehan	Ehsan	Consumer Technology Association
Foley	Leigh	National Association of Broadcasters
Graves	Kara	CTIA - the Wireless Association
Hamlin	Lise	Hearing Loss Association of America
Hlibok	Gregory	CSDVRS, LLC
Holmes	Pamela	Ultratec, Inc.
Joehl	Samuel	Level Access
Jones	Gay	U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Kirby	Maria	Apple, Inc.
Maddix	Michael	Sorenson Communications, LLC
Malaier	Sarah	American Foundation for the Blind
Niyongabo	Isidore	National Black Deaf Advocates
Nubbe	Beth	National Captioning Institute, Inc.
Nygren	Maggie	American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
Rosen	Jeff	Convo Communications, LLC
Rosenthal	Rebecca	National Association for State Relay Administration
Selznick	Dennis	Sprint Corporation
Scarpelli	Brian	ACT - the App Association
Schaefer	Savannah	Telecommunications Industry Association

Disability Advisory Committee Members in Attendance April 10, 2019

Schroeder	Paul	Aira Tech Corporation
Srinivasan	Amita	DeafBlind Citizens in Action
Stephens	Anthony	American Council of the Blind
Strecker	Michael	ClearCaptions
Stout	Claude	Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Inc.
Snyder	Joel	Audio Description Associates, LLC
Vandeloop	Linda	AT&T Services, Inc.
Vogler	Christian	Gallaudet Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center
Winland	Brittany	VITAC
Wlodkowski	Thomas	Comcast
Ziegler	Dixie	Hamilton Relay, Inc.

CGB Staff

Barbara Esbin Suzy Rosen Singleton Eliot Greenwald Debra Patkin Will Schell