Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) Meeting Minutes June 16, 2017

On June 16, 2017, the second meeting of the second term of the DAC was opened by DAC Cochairs Lise Hamlin, Hearing Loss Association of America and Samuel Joehl, SSB BART Group. Welcoming remarks were made by the Federal Communications Commissioner Mignon Clyburn. Commissioner Clyburn remarked on the certification of state programs under the National DeafBlind Equipment Distribution Program, and stated the importance of Commission action to increase the number of video described television program hours. She urged that the Commission adopt rules to ensure accessible control display features for closed captioning, and to revise telephone volume control and hearing aid compatibility standards. Commissioner Clyburn closed by expressing support for Commission adoption of updated United States Access Board Section 255 guidelines. The new Chief of the FCC's Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB), Patrick Webre, was then introduced by Karen Peltz Strauss, CGB's Deputy Chief. Chief Webre welcomed the DAC and congratulated the DAC on its accomplishments. Karen Peltz Strauss then announced the winners of the Chairman's 2017 Awards for Advancement on Accessibility, and encouraged members to participate in the nomination process for next year's awards, and to visit https://www.fcc.gov/general/chairmansawards-advancements-accessibility for more information.

The meeting then continued a presentation by Will Schell, Attorney Adviser, Disability Rights Office (DRO) and Gerard Williams, Sign Language Interpreter, Consumer Affairs and Outreach Division (CAOD), on best practices for accessible meetings. Following roll call, Sherry Dawson and Anita Dey of the CAOD presented their staff and explained their mission and outreach work.

Next, Suzanne Rosen Singleton, Chief of DRO, welcomed members and discussed outreach and information made available by this FCC office. DRO Deputy Chief Eliot Greenwald reported on the recently adopted VRS Improvements Order, and the comments sought by the Commission on VRS. Rosaline Crawford, DRO Attorney Advisor, next provided a brief update on the National DeafBlind Equipment Distribution Program. Susan Bahr, DRO Attorney Advisor, discussed copper retirement issues and captioning of video clips shown on the internet. Will Schell presented an update on passing emergency information on a secondary audio stream on second screen devices.

Jeffery Goldthorp, Associate Chief of the FCC's Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, next gave a presentation to the DAC on the Commission's Communications Security, Reliability and Interoperability Council.

After a break for a lunch, sponsored by Apple, Inc., Charles Meisch, Jr., of the FCC Incentive Auctions Task Force, presented a report on the Commission's Incentive Auction program. Brian Hurley, the Designated Federal Officer for the Commission's Broadband Deployment Advisory Committee, next explained the mission of that advisory committee to the DAC.

Reports were next made by the DAC's subcommittees. Mark Fletcher (Avaya), with Richard Ray (City of Los Angeles) reported on behalf of the Emergency Communications Subcommittee; Rochelle Garrow (National Association for State Relay Administration) and Pamela Holmes (Ultratec) reported on behalf of the Relay and Equipment Distribution Subcommittee; Anthony Stephens (American Council of the Blind) and Mark Richert (American Foundation for the Blind) gave a report for the Video Programming Subcommittee; and Linda Vandeloop (AT&T) and Zainab Alkebsi (National Association of the Deaf) presented a report for the Technology Transitions Subcommittee. No subcommittee presented a recommendation for vote at this meeting.

No new business was proffered. The meeting was then opened for public comment, but none was received.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 2:55 PM.

Disability Advisory Committee Members in Attendance June 16, 2017

Last Name	First Name	Organization Represented
Alkebsi	Zainab	National Association of the Deaf (NAD)
Bacon	Everette	National Federation of the Blind (NFB)
Bastian	Zachary	Verizon
Behm	Gary	NTID Center on Access Technology
Belt	Bill	Consumer Technology Association (CTA)
Berrier	Jerry	Perkins School for the Blind
Bibler	Ron	Consumer
Burstein	Diane	National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA)
Card	John	DISH Networks
Creagan	Tim	U.S. Access Board (ex officio)
Davert	Scott	Helen Keller National Center
Diaz	Maria	DiCapta
Gallagher	BJ	Speech Communications Assistance by Telephone
Guinivan	Phyllis	Association of University Centers on Disability
Hamlin	Lise	Hearing Loss Association of America
Joehl	Sam	SSB BART Group
Kelley	Scott	LG Electronics
Martinez	Eddie	TCS Associates
Niyongabo	Isidore	National Black Deaf Advocates
Nygren	Maggie	American Association on Intellectual & Developmental Disability
Pila	Joshua	National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
Powderly	Tim	Apple, Inc.
Rafi	Abe	The ARC
Ray	Richard	City of Los Angeles, Disability Rights
Richert	Mark	American Foundation for the Blind (AFB)
Romagnino	Kara	CTIA - the Wireless Association
Salaets	Ken	Information Technology Industry Council
Scarpelli	Brian	ACT – the App Association
Sonnenstrahl	Al	Deaf Seniors of America
Stephens	Tony	American Council of the Blind
Stout	Claude	Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Inc. (TDI)
Vandeloop	Linda	AT&T Services, Inc.
Vogler	Christian	Gallaudet RERC
Yunashko	Bryen	Consumer

CGB Staff Karen Peltz Strauss Suzy Rosen Singleton Eliot Greenwald Elaine Gardner Will Schell Rosaline Crawford Michael Scott Sue Bahr Robert McConnell April Jackson