Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document

FCC Announces Agenda for GHz SAS Workshop planned for January 14, 2014

Download Options

Released: January 9, 2014


Federal Communications Commission

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500

445 12th St., S.W.


Washington, D.C. 20554

TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 14-29
January 9, 2014

FCC Wireless Telecommunications Bureau and Office of Engineering and Technology

Announce Agenda for Workshop to Discuss the Creation of a Spectrum Access System in the

3.5 GHz Band

WT Docket No. 12-354

As previously announced, the FCC's Wireless Telecommunications Bureau (WTB) and Office of
Engineering and Technology (OET) will host a workshop on Tuesday, January 14, 2014, in the FCC’s
Commission Meeting Room.1 In December 2012, the Federal Communications Commission adopted
a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) that proposed to make at least 100 megahertz of spectrum
available for shared small cell use in the 3550-3650 MHz band (3.5 GHz Band). The NPRM proposed the
creation of a dynamic Spectrum Access System (SAS) to govern interactions between and among devices
in the 3.5 GHz band. The purpose of the workshop is to further explore the technical requirements,
architecture, and operational parameters of the SAS.

Tentative Agenda

9:00 AM

Opening Remarks – FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler

9:30 AM

Panel #1: Focus Area A – SAS Architecture & Responsibilities

Milind Buddhikot – Distinguished Member of Technical Staff, Alcatel-Lucent
Preston Marshall – Principal Systems Architect, Google Access Systems
Alex Phillips – Founder & CEO, Rural Broadband Network Services, LLC
Durga Malladi – VP Engineering, Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.
Justin Colwell – Director of Wireless, Cablelabs
Matthew Sherman – Technical Director & Engineering Fellow, BAE Systems

11:00 AM

Panel #2: Focus Area D – SAS Launch, Evolution & Band Plan

Sanyogita Shamsunder – Director of Advanced Technology Strategy, Verizon
Peter Stanforth – Chief Technical Officer & Co-Founder, Spectrum Bridge, Inc.
David Gurney – Distinguished Member of Technical Staff, Motorola Solutions
Prakash Moorut – North America Spectrum Lead, Nokia Solutions & Networks
Amer Hassan - Senior Director, Skype, a division of Microsoft

12:30 PM

Lunch Break

1 Wireless Telecommunications Bureau and Office of Engineering and Technology Announce Date Change for
Workshop on the Proposed Spectrum Access System for the 3.5 GHz Band, Public Notice, 28 FCC Rcd 15606
(WTB/OET 2013).

1:30 PM

Session #3: Focus Area B – Functional Requirements, Usage & Enforcement

John Stine – Head of Operations Research & System Analysis, MITRE
Karri Kuoppamaki – Sr. Director, Technology Strategy & Policy, T-Mobile
Mark Gibson – Director of Business Development, Comsearch
John Malyar – Chief Architect, iconectiv
Jerry Park – Associate Professor, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Virginia Tech
Johanna Dwyer – General Manager, Federated Wireless

2:45 PM

Session #4: Focus Area C – Spectrum Management & Interference Detection

Mark McHenry – President, CTO & Founder, Shared Spectrum Company
Amit Jain – VP Product Management, SpiderCloud Wireless
Peter Ecclesine – Technology Analyst, Cisco
Srikathyayni Srikanteswara – Sr. Research Scientist, Intel Corporation
Radu Selea – Chief Technical Officer, BLiNQ
Apurva Mody - Chairman, WhiteSpace Alliance

4:00 PM

Presentations: Measurements, Results & Observations Related to Spectrum Sharing

Jeffrey Reed & Charles Clancy – Wireless@Virginia Tech
Frank Sanders – Chief, Telecommunications Theory Division, NTIA/ITS, Dept. of Commerce

5:00 PM


To further facilitate dialogue between interested parties, we will host an online discussion forum on the
Commission’s website following the conclusion of the workshop. The forum will be divided into the four
major areas outlined in the call for papers2 and discussed in the workshop. We encourage all interested
parties to join the discussion. Because this continues to be a permit-but-disclose proceeding, all comments
will be placed in docket 12-354 and will become part of the official record for this proceeding. More
information will be released the day of the workshop.
Attendance. This forum is open to the public. All attendees are advised to arrive approximately 30
minutes prior to the start of the workshop to allow time to go through our security process. Attendees are
encouraged to pre-register by submitting their name and company affiliation via email to Cecilia Sulhoff
( in order to expedite the check-in process the day of the event. Please use “3.5
GHz Workshop” as the subject line in your email.
The forum will be webcast at the day of the event.
Accessibility Information. To request information in accessible formats (computer diskettes, large print,
audio recording, and Braille), send an e-mail to or call the FCC’s Consumer and
Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice), (202) 418-0432 (TTY). This document can also
be downloaded in Word and Portable Document Format (PDF) at:
Wireless Telecommunications Bureau and Office of Engineering and Technology contacts:
Kamran Etemad, WTB,, (202) 418-2534
Navid Golshahi, OET,, (202) 418-2422

2 Wireless Telecommunications Bureau and Office of Engineering and Technology Call for Papers on the Proposed
Spectrum Access System for the 3.5 GHz Band, Public Notice, 28 FCC Rcd 15843 (WTB/OET 2013).

Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.