U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Accessibility Statement

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act (Section 508) requires all electronic and information technology (also referred to as information and communication technology or ICT) that is developed, procured, maintained, or used by a federal agency to be accessible to people with disabilities. Examples of ICT include web sites, telephones, multimedia devices, and copiers. Access available to individuals with disabilities must be comparable to access available to others. Standards for Section 508 compliance are developed and maintained by the United States Access Board and incorporate the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. Further information about the Access Board's standards and Section 508 generally may be found at www.section508.gov.

To ensure persons with disabilities have equal access, FCC web content applies the Section 508 standards for WCAG 2.0 Level A and AA guidelines.

Report Accessibility Issues or File a Formal Complaint

If you have questions about the FCC's Section 508 program supporting ICT, e-mail Section508FCC@fcc.gov. For information about filing a complaint against the FCC under Section 508, contact Rebecca Lovley - Section 508 IT Program Manager, (202) 418-1957. To enable us to respond in a manner most helpful to you, please indicate the nature of your accessibility problem, the preferred format in which to receive the material, the web address (URL) of the material with which you are having difficulty, and your contact information.

Additionally, you may also select a category and file a complaint through the FCC's Consumer Complaint Center, Accessibility Complaint Filing Categories webpage.

Notice of Rights

Section 501 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. § 791)

Section 501 of the Rehabilitation Act prohibits employment discrimination against individuals with disabilities in the federal sector. The FCC provides reasonable accommodations for employees and applicants with disabilities. For more information, please visit the Office of Workforce Diversity’s Reasonable Accommodations Policies and Procedures page.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. § 794)

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act prohibits federal agencies, programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance, from discriminating against individuals with disabilities.

The 5th edition of the Federal Communications Commission Section 504 Programs & Activities Accessibility Handbook (Section 504 Handbook) is a collection of guidelines, information, and procedures intended to help Commission personnel in their efforts to ensure that the FCC’s programs and activities are accessible to individuals with disabilities.

Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 (42 U.S.C. §§ 4151--57)

The Architectural Barriers Act (ABA) requires access to facilities that are designed, built, altered, or leased with Federal funds. The Access Board is the federal agency responsible for enforcing the ABA. The Access Board's accessibility standards are available on their website at www.access-board.gov/aba, and information about filing a complaint may be found at www.access-board.gov/enforcement.

Instructions on the use of the telecommunications relay service:

Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) allows persons with who are deaf, hard of hearing, deafblind or who have speech disabilities to place and receive telephone calls. Relay services are available to the public without action from Commission staff. There is no need for the Commission to schedule or otherwise engage relay services. For more information about TRS services, please visit www.fcc.gov/trs.

Accessibility Resources

Disability Rights Office

The Disability Rights Office addresses disability-related matters, including access to telecommunications services and equipment; hearing aid compatibility; access to advanced communications services and equipment; access to Internet browsers built into mobile phones; telecommunications relay services; the National Deaf-Blind Equipment Distribution Program; accessible video programming and video programming apparatus (access to televised emergency information, closed captioning on television and television programs on the Internet, audio description, and accessible user interfaces, text menus, and program guides).


Wednesday, March 20, 2024