Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document


Download Options

Released: August 8, 2011


Federal Communications Commission

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500

445 12th St., S.W.


Washington, D.C. 20554

TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 11-1321
August 8, 2011



This Public Notice serves as notice that, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee
Act,1 Federal Communications Commission (FCC or Commission) Chairman Julius
Genachowski has appointed members to the Communications Security, Reliability, and
Interoperability Council (CSRIC or Council).2 The members represent a diverse and balanced
mix of viewpoints from public safety organizations; Federal, state and local government
agencies; the communications industry; organizations representing Internet users; utility
companies; public interest organizations; and other experts.3 Chairman Genachowski has
designated Glen F. Post III of CenturyLink as Chair of the Council. A list of Council members is
attached to this Public Notice.
The Council is a Federal Advisory Committee that will provide recommendations to the
Commission regarding best practices and actions the Commission can take to ensure the security,
reliability, and interoperability of communications systems.
On March 18, 2011, pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act,4 the Commission
renewed the CSRIC charter for a period of two years, through March 18, 2013.5 Under the
charter, CSRIC's duties may include:

1 5 U.S.C. App. 2.
2 On March 22, 2011, the Commission released a Public Notice seeking nominations and expressions of
interest for membership on the Council. See FCC Recharters the Communications Security, Reliability,
and Interoperability Council, Seeks nominations by April 22, 2011 for Membership, Public Notice, DA -
11-534, rel. March 22, 2011. On April 19, 2011, the Commission extended the time for nominations
through May 13, 2011. See FCC Extends Deadline for Membership Nominations Until May 13, 2011 for
Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council, Public Notice, DA 11-713, rel. Apr.
19, 2011.
3 The Commission will announce the Council's first meeting in a separate Public Notice.
4 5 U.S.C. App. 2.
5 See 76 Fed. Reg. 17650 (Mar. 30, 2011).

Developing and recommending best practices and actions the FCC can take that promote
reliable 9-1-1, E9-1-1, and Next Generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) service.

Determining and making recommendations on whether and how NG9-1-1 can be
extended to other N-1-1 services to ensure their reliability and cost-effective deployment.

Identifying and recommending to the FCC a set of best practices to make
communications networks, including broadband networks and VoIP systems, more
secure, resilient, and defendable from Internet-based attacks.

Developing recommendations for actions the FCC could consider to promote the
development of a broadband-based, next generation alerting system that leverages
advanced technologies and the Internet, including social media platforms, to distribute
emergency alerts and warnings to the public.

Identifying and recommending to the FCC actions to improve the functioning of the
national security/emergency preparedness priority services programs: Government
Emergency Telecommunications Service; Telecommunications Service Priority; and
Wireless Priority Service.
Making recommendations with respect to such additional topics as the FCC may specify.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Jeffery Goldthorp, Designated Federal Official
for CSRIC and Associate Bureau Chief for Cybersecurity and Communications Reliability,
Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau, at (202) 418-1096 or or
Lauren Kravetz, Deputy Designated Federal Official for CSRIC and Deputy Chief,
Cybersecurity and Communications Reliability Division, Public Safety & Homeland Security
Bureau at (202) 418-7944 or



August 8, 2011

Jeffery Goldthorp, Designated Federal Officer
Lauren Kravetz, Deputy Designated Federal Officer


Glen F. Post III, CenturyLink


Dr. Edward Amoroso, AT&T
Robert Azzi, Sprint Nextel Corp.
Donna Bethea-Murphy, Iridium Satellite LLC
Bill Buchholtz, Texas 9-1-1 Alliance
Uma Chandrashekhar, Telecommunications Industry Association
Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters
Doug Davis, Hypercube Telecom, LLC
Timothy Defoggi, Indian Health Service, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Jack Doane, National Association of State Chief Information Officers
Donna F. Dodson, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Craig Donaldson, Intrado
Dr. Brian K. Done, Office of Cybersecurity and Communications, U.S. Department
of Homeland Security
Dr. Stuart Elby, Verizon Communications
Andy Ellis, Akamai Technologies
Chris Fischer, North East King County (WA) Regional Public Safety Communication Agency
Laurie Flaherty, National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, U.S. Department
of Transportation
Dr. Brian Fontes, National Emergency Number Association
James Fowler, NYC Department of Information Technology and Telecommunications
Barry Lee Greene, Internet Systems Consortium
Brenton Greene, Telcordia Technologies
Thomas Hanson, Charlottesville (VA) Regional Emergency Communications Center
Hon. Maureen Harris, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
Jennifer Hightower, Cox Communications
Christian Hillabrant, T-Mobile USA
Christopher Homer, DIRECTV
Brett E. Jenkins, ION Media Networks
Rodney Joffe, NeuStar, Inc.
Brett Kilbourne, Utilities Telecommunications Council
Elisa Kim, E911 Institute
Stephen Malphrus, Federal Reserve Board of Governors
Danny McPherson, Verisign
Susan Miller, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions

Brian Oliger, WTOP Radio, Washington, DC
Michael O'Reirdan, Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group
Alan Paller, The SANS Institute
Damon Penn, Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Jacqueline Randall, State of Washington E911 Program Office
Rod Rasmussen, Internet Identity
Jos Luis Rodriguez, Hispanic Information and Telecommunications Network
Robert Ross, CBS Broadcasting Inc.
William Sagel, Major County Sheriffs Association
Stephen Schmidt,
Richard Shockey, SIP Forum
Bill Smith, PayPal
Dr. Dorothy A. Spears-Dean, Virginia Information Technologies Agency
Craig Spiezle, Online Trust Alliance
Maurice Tos, TeleCommunication Systems, Inc.
Daniel A. Traynor, Tennessee Valley Authority
Dr. Christian Vogler, Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center
on Telecommunications Access
John P. Wick, Jr., Syniverse Technologies
Steven Wisely, APCO International
Karen Wong, California Technology Agency

Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.