Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document

CGB Extends Expiring iTRS Certifications Through 1-4-12

Download Options

Released: October 26, 2011


Federal Communications Commission ion
445 12th St., S.W.

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500


Washington, D.C. 20554

TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 11-1795

Released: October 26, 2011




CG Docket Nos. 03-123 and 10-51

By this Public Notice, the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (Bureau) hereby further
extends, through January 4, 2012, the certification period for providers of Video Relay Service and IP
Relay Service with certifications that are scheduled to expire on November 4, 2011.1 The Bureau
previously extended the certification period for affected providers until that date to maintain the status
quo while the Commission considered reform of the certification process proposed in the Certification
.2 On July 28, 2011, the Commission released an Order modifying the certification process and
requiring providers with certifications scheduled to expire on November 4, 2011 to submit applications
for recertification under the revised requirements after those requirements had become effective, but no
later than 30 days prior to the expiration of their currently extended certifications --- that is, by October 5,
2011, provided that the rules had become effective by the date.3
However, the revised rules related to the submission of the certification applications and
involving information collection requirements have not yet become effective.4 Accordingly, those
providers whose certifications expire on November 4, 2011, cannot submit applications for recertification
under the revised process until those rules become effective. We therefore extend, until January 4, 2012,
the certification period for these affected providers to allow them to submit applications for recertification
after the revised certification rules become effective. This extension will enable such providers to

1 The Commission rules provide that providers seeking eligibility for compensation from the Interstate
Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS) Fund for the provision of Internet-based TRS must first obtain
certification from the Commission. See 47 C.F.R. 64.606(a)(2). The certification granted under the Commission
process remains in effect for five years. See 47 C.F.R. 64.606(c)(2).
2 Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau Announces Extension of Expiring Certifications for Providers of
Internet-based Telecommunications Relay Services
, CG Docket Nos. 03-123 & 10-51, Public Notice, 26 FCC Rcd
6737 (2011). Structure and Practices of the Video Relay Service Program, Report and Order and Further Notice of
Proposed Rulemaking, 26 FCC Rcd 5545 (2011) (VRS Practices R&O and Certification FNPRM). Therein, the
Commission proposed new rules to govern the certification process for providers of Internet-based TRS.
3 Structure and Practices of the Video Relay Service Program, CG Docket No. 10-51, Second Report and Order and
Order, 26 FCC Rcd 10898, 10922-23, 60 (2011) (iTRS Certification Order).
4 The Office of Management and Budget has recently approved the information collection contained in the new rules
adopted in the iTRS Certification Order. However, a notice announcing such approval making the rules effective
has not yet been published in the Federal Register. iTRS Certification Order, 26 FCC Rcd at 10928, 75.

continue to seek compensation from the Interstate TRS Fund for this limited interim period, pending the
Commission's consideration of their applications for recertification.5
This extension is effective upon release of this Public Notice.
To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic
files, audio format), send an e-mail to or call the Consumer and Governmental Affairs
Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice), (202) 418-0432 (TTY). This document can also be downloaded in Word
and Portable Document Format (PDF) at:
For further information, please contact Gregory Hlibok, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau,
Disability Rights Office, at (202) 559-5158 (video/voice), (202) 418-0431 (TTY), or e-mail at
Action by the Chief, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau
- FCC -

5 Providers whose certifications expire on January 4, 2012 must submit their applications for recertification no later
than December 5, 2011, provided that the new certification rules have become effective by that date. See note 3,
supra, and accompanying text.

Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.