Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document

Chairman Wheeler Announces Stolen Mobile Device Working Group Members

Download Options

Released: July 24, 2014


Federal Communications Commission

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500

445 12th St., S.W.


Washington, D.C. 20554

TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 14-1053

July 24, 2014



The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) announced today the members of the

Technological Advisory Council’s (TAC) Working Group on Mobile Device Theft Prevention. 1

The Council, comprised of a wide array of leading technical experts, supports the Commission’s

identification of areas for innovation and development of technology policies promoting

America’s competitiveness in the global economy.

On June 19, 2014, Chairman Wheeler directed the TAC to form a working group to

develop industry-wide recommendations to mitigate the increasing theft of mobile devices,

which has become a major source of crime in the United States. The working group, comprised

of representatives from key industries involved with mobile technologies, members of law

enforcement, and consumer interest organizations, will develop recommendations for

Commission action.

In announcing the members of the working group, Chairman Wheeler stated: "I am

pleased that these recognized leaders have committed to assist the Commission in developing

policies and recommendations that will advance the goal of stopping the theft of mobile devices

and thereby better protect consumers."

The working group will report its findings and recommendations to the full

Technological Advisory Council, which then will bring forward its recommendations to the

Commission. The TAC is chaired by Dennis Roberson, IIT. The chairs and members of the

working group are as follows:

Chairs of Mobile Device Theft Prevention Working Group

Brian Daly, Director of Core Network and Government/Regulatory Standards, AT&T

and member of the Technological Advisory Council

Robert Kubik, Director of Communications Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Samsung

1 On June 24, 2014, the Commission released a Public Notice seeking nominations and expressions of

interest for membership on the working group. See Technological Advisory Council Seeks Members for

Mobile Device Theft Prevention Working Group, Public Notice, DA 14-875, rel. June 24, 2014.


Members of the Mobile Device Theft Prevention Working Group

Asaf Askenazi, Director of Product Management, Qualcomm

Jay Barbour, Certified Information Systems Security Professional and Security Director,


Brad Blanken, Vice President of Industry Development, Competitive Carriers


Craig Boswell, President, Hobi

Eric Feldman, Associate Deputy Assistant Director, Cyber Crimes Center, Department of

Homeland Security

John Foust, Special Assistant, Executive Office of the Chief of Police, Washington, D.C.

Metropolitan Police Department

Les Gray, Chief Operations Officer, Recipero

Joe Heaps, Policy Advisor, National Institute of Justice

Gary Jones, Senior Director and Head of Technical Standards Policy, T-Mobile

Sang Kim, Principal Researcher, LG

Jake Laperruque, Fellow on Privacy, Surveillance, and Security, Center for Democracy

and Technology

John Marinho, Vice President of Technology and CyberSecurity, CTIA – The Wireless


Special Agent Samuel Messinger, US Secret Service

Jason Novak, Manager of Privacy Engineering, Apple

Kirthika Parmeswaran, Principal Solutions Architect, Ericsson

Greg Post, President, Recipero (Alternate)

Ian Robertson, Vice President of Security, Engineering, and Innovation, Motorola


Deepti Rohatgi, Mobile Security Policy Advisor, Lookout

Mark Romer, Senior Director, Asurion Mobile Applications

Mike Rou, Senior Manager, eBay

Matt Rowe, Vice President and General Counsel, Gazelle

Special Agent Christian Schorle, FBI Newark, Cyber Task Force

David Strumwasser, Principal Member of Technical Staff, Verizon



Maxwell Szabo, Legislative Affairs and Policy Manager, Office of District Attorney

George Gascón

Nick Tucker, Program Manager, Microsoft

Samir Vaidya, Director of Technology, Verizon (Alternate)


To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print,

electronic files, audio format), please send an e-mail to or call the Consumer and

Governmental Affairs Bureau, (202) 418-0530 (voice) or (202) 418-0432 (TTY).


For further information, please contact: Walter Johnston, (202)418-0807 (voice),


Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.