Skip Navigation

Federal Communications Commission

English Display Options

Commission Document

Technological Advisory Council Meeting

Download Options

Released: March 20, 2012


Federal Communications Commission

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500

445 12th St., S.W.


Washington, D.C. 20554

TTY: 1-888-835-5322

DA 12-425
Released: March 20, 2012


The FCC today announced the next meeting of the Technological Advisory Council (TAC).
The Council, comprised of a diverse group of leading technology experts, provides technical
expertise to the Commission to identify important areas of innovation and develop informed
technology policies supporting the United States’ competitiveness in the global economy. The
TAC is helping the Commission to continue the momentum spurred by the National Broadband
Plan to maximize the use of broadband to advance national interests and create jobs.
At its final meeting for 2011 on December 20th, the TAC presented recommendations on
completed work items for the year and discussed potential work items for 2012. At the next
meeting, on March 28, 2012, the TAC will further discuss its 2012 work program and address
the allocation of personnel to identified items.
In addition, the FCC would like to announce several new members of the TAC. These are:
Greg Chang, Senior Director, Yume, representing Yume
Marty Cooper, Chairman, Dyna LLc, representing Dyna LLC
Milo Medin, VP/Google Access Initiatives representing Google
Mark Richer, President ATSC, representing ATSC
Kevin Sparks, Senior Director, Alcatel Lucent, representing Alcatel
Glen Tindal, CTO for Juniper’s Global Service Provider Sector, representing Juniper
Joe Wetzel, President/CEO Earthlink, representing Earthlink
The next meeting of the TAC will be held on Wednesday, March 28, 2012, from 1:00 pm to 4:00
pm in the Commission Meeting Room, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. The public is
invited to attend.

Tom Wheeler, Managing Director, Core Capital Partners, serves as Chairman of the Council.
Walter Johnston, Chief of the Electromagnetic Compatibility Division, serves as the Designated
Federal Officer. Julius Knapp, Chief of the Office of Engineering and Technology is the
Alternate Designated Federal Officer.
For further information, contact Walter Johnston at 202-418-0807
voice, Email or visit the FCC website at

Note: We are currently transitioning our documents into web compatible formats for easier reading. We have done our best to supply this content to you in a presentable form, but there may be some formatting issues while we improve the technology. The original version of the document is available as a PDF, Word Document, or as plain text.


You are leaving the FCC website

You are about to leave the FCC website and visit a third-party, non-governmental website that the FCC does not maintain or control. The FCC does not endorse any product or service, and is not responsible for, nor can it guarantee the validity or timeliness of the content on the page you are about to visit. Additionally, the privacy policies of this third-party page may differ from those of the FCC.