“This page is a digitally archived AccessInfo Announcement”

On May 23, 2012, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) announced that it will accept nominations for the Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman’s AAA) from May 31, 2012 through July 31, 2012 for products, services, technologies or practices introduced to the public between July 31, 2011 and July 31, 2012. The

Chairman’s AAA is an FCC project coordinated by the Commission’s Accessibility and Innovation Initiative (A&I Initiative) that recognizes cutting-edge private and public sector ventures designed to advance accessibility for people with disabilities, and mainstream technological innovations that are accessible to persons with disabilities. These remarkable ventures include, for example, the development of individual mainstream or assistive technologies introduced into the marketplace, the development of standards, and the implementation of best practices that foster accessibility. The Chairman’s AAA is designed to recognize the efforts of individuals, organizations, academics, companies, students and government agencies to make communication tools easier to use and more accessible to people with disabilities and to encourage technological innovation and accessibility in communications-related areas.  The Chairman’s AAA also identifies technology and innovation trends to the marketplace.


Nominations will be accepted in the following seven categories: Education: College/University; Deaf-Blind Solutions; Video Programming Device Solutions; Geo-location Solutions; Mobile Apps; Consumer Empowerment Information; and Civic Participation Solutions.


In conjunction with the Chairman’s AAA, the FCC will display and highlight new, accessible and cutting-edge communications technologies in its Technology Experience Center (TEC) throughout October 2012. We invite all nominees and others who are interested in displaying their accessible innovations at the TEC to contact us at: ChairmansAAA@fcc.gov no later than August 1, 2012.


The Chairman’s AAA is open to the public and there is no cost to attend. Advanced registration is highly recommended, but not required. Industry, technologists, innovators, apps developers, persons with disabilities, advocates and government officials are encouraged to attend to explore the latest innovations in accessibility and communications technologies.


FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski will recognize winners and honorable mentions at a ceremony held in October 2012 at the FCC’s Headquarters, Commission Meeting Room (TW-C305) at 445 12th Street, SW, Washington, DC, 20554 (closest metro: Smithsonian).


October is the anniversary of the enactment of the Twenty-First Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act (CVAA) and National Disability Employment Awareness Month. The ceremony also will be webcast at www.fcc.gov/live. The event will be followed by demonstrations of the winning technologies at the Commission’s Technology Experience Center (TEC). Nominations may be self-nominated or made by a third party. The nomination should include a brief description of the innovation, identification of the category of innovation, the date the innovation was introduced and why the innovation qualifies for the Chairman’s Award. Please send all nominations to: ChairmansAAA@fcc.gov, between 12:01 AM May 31, 2012 and 11:59 PM July

31, 2012.

Friday, January 13, 2017