U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

“This page is a digitally archived AccessInfo Announcement”

In 2012, the FCC certified 53 programs to distribute equipment under the National Deaf-Blind Equipment Distribution Program (NDBEDP) in each of the 50 states, plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.


Recently, the program certified for Iowa informed the FCC that it was unable to continue participating in the NDBEDP.  The FCC invited applications from other programs to become certified to distribute equipment under the NDBEDP to low income individuals who are deaf-blind in Iowa.  The deadline for applications was July 18, 2014.


On August 1, 2014, the FCC announced that it selected the Helen Keller National Center for certification to participate in the NDBEDP for the state of Iowa, effective August 1, 2014.


Links to the Public Notice:


Word:    https://apps.fcc.gov/edocs_public/attachmatch/DA-14-1123A1.docx PDF:    https://apps.fcc.gov/edocs_public/attachmatch/DA-14-1123A1.pdf Text:    https://apps.fcc.gov/edocs_public/attachmatch/DA-14-1123A1.txt


For more information, contact Jackie Ellington at 202‐418‐1153 or by e‐mail to

Jackie.Ellington@fcc.gov; or Rosaline Crawford at 202‐418‐2075 or by e‐mail to


Monday, November 21, 2016