April 27, 2011 - 10:37 am
By Jeffery Goldthorp | Associate Bureau Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

We’ve been getting a lot of questions about membership on the Communications Security, Reliability and Interoperability Council (CSRIC).  So, we decided to extend the deadline to give everyone time to respond.  THE NEW DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS IS MAY 13, 2011.  The Public Notice extending the date is available on our website at https://www.fcc.gov/Daily_Releases/Daily_Business/2011/db0419/DA-11-713A1.pdf.

We’d like to have a broad range of interests and expertise represented on the CSRIC.  Here are the types of organizations we described in the PN. 

  • Federal, state, tribal, and local; State, tribal, and/or local government agencies and organizations with expertise in homeland security and communications issues;
  • Communications service providers and organizations representing communications service providers;
  • Online retailers, online technology service providers, Internet security companies, and other providers of online services;
  • Entities representing users of communications systems in  business, finance, energy, education, and health care sectors and;
  • Consumer or community organizations, such as those representing people with disabilities, the elderly, those living in rural areas, and those representing populations that speak, as their primary language, languages other than English.

As a refresher - the CSRIC is a Federal Advisory Committee that will provide recommendations to the Commission on topics such as best practices to promote reliable 9-1-1, E9-1-1, and Next Generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) service; best practices to make communications networks, more secure, resilient, and defendable from Internet-based attacks; promoting the development of a broadband-based, next generation alerting system o distribute emergency alerts and warnings to the public, among others.

If you are interested in membership on the CSRIC, or would like to make a nomination, please send the name, title, organization and contact information of the nominee, a description of the organization, sector, or other interest the nominee will represent; a statement summarizing the nominee’s qualifications and reasons why the nominee should be appointed to the CSRIC.  Finally, please include a statement confirming that the nominee is not a registered federal lobbyist. 

Nominations and other inquiries should be sent to Lisa M. Fowlkes, Deputy Bureau Chief, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, via e-mail at lisa.fowlkes@fcc.gov; via facsimile at 202-418-2817.  You can also send by U.S. mail to 445 12th Street, SW, Room 7-C753, Washington, DC 20554.    Questions may also be address to Jeffery Goldthorp, Associate Chief for Cybersecurity and Communications Reliability, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau, (202) 418-1096 or jeffery.goldthorp@fcc.gov .