U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Chairman Genachowski mHealth Summit Remarks

10:00 am - 10:15 am EDT
Washington, DC (Webcast only)

FCC Chairman Genachowski Hosts mHealth Summit to Foster Innovation in Wireless Health Technology

Washington, D.C. – On Wednesday, June 6, 2012, FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski delivered remarks ahead of a meeting at the FCC with private, academic, and government leaders from across the wireless health technology ecosystem to discuss the promise of mHealth to improve health care and lower costs, including practical steps the assembled leaders could take to foster innovation in the sector.

The Chairman was joined by senior executives and leaders from established companies such as Philips, Qualcomm, and Medtronic, startups such as MedApps, Telcare, TheCarrot, and WellDoc, non-profits, hospital leaders, and government experts from the FCC, FDA, HHS, VA, CMS, and NIH. Studies show that mHealth innovations can reduce costs by as much as $197 billion in the next 25 years, while improving patient care.

Related Materials


  • Julius Genachowski, Chairman, Federal Communications Commission
  • Adam Darkins, Chief Consultant for Care Coordination Services, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Charles S. Farlow, Senior Program Manager, Medtronic
  • Ryan Drant, General Partner, New Enterprise Associates
  • Julian Goldman, Director of Interoperability, CIMIT
  • Yael Harris, Director of the Office of Health IT & Quality, Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA)
  • Anand Iyer, President and COO, WellDoc
  • Robert Jarrin, Senior Director of Government Affairs, Qualcomm
  • Jonathan Javitt, CEO, Telcare
  • Richard Katz, Professor and Director, Division of Cardiology, George Washington University School of Medicine
  • Julius Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology, FCC
  • Linda Magno, Director of the Medicare Demonstrations Program Group, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Studies
  • Thomas Maguire, Senior Vice President, Verizon
  • Wendy Nilsen, Health Scientist Administrator, Office of the Director, National Institutes of Health
  • Bakul Patel, Policy Advisor, Office of the Center Director, Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH), FDA
  • Joseph Smith, Chief Medical Officer and Chief Science Officer, West Wireless Health
  • Doug Trauner, Founder, TheCarrot
  • Dale Wiggins, Vice President of Technology, Philips Healthcare
  • Wil Yu, Special Assistant of Innovations and Research, Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT, Department of Health and Human Services