U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Workshop on TV Broadcast Relocation Fund Reimbursement and Related Issues Announced for September 30

10:00 am - 12:30 pm EDT
Commission Meeting Room at FCC Headquarters, 445 12th Street, S.W., Room TW-C305, Washington, DC

As part of the Learn Everything About Reverse Auctions Now Program (LEARN), the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) hosted a workshop on Monday, September 30, 2013, in Washington, D.C. The two-panel session focused on issues surrounding the reassignment of television stations after the incentive auction authorized by Congress in the Spectrum Act of 2012 (Act).

The Act establishes a $1.75 billion TV Broadcaster Relocation Fund for the Commission to reimburse costs reasonably incurred by broadcasters who are relocated to new channels when broadcast spectrum is repacked following the auction. In the workshop, panelists discussed: 1) the categories of reimbursable costs broadcasters might incur as a result of the repacking; and 2) how broadcasters can coordinate among themselves to mitigate costs and ensure the most efficient transition to new frequencies.

For further information, contact: Kim Matthews at (202) 418-2154 or Kim.Matthews@fcc.gov; Mary Margaret Jackson at (202) 418-3641 or MaryMargaret.Jackson@fcc.gov; or Pamela Gallant at (202) 418-0614 or Pamela.Gallant@fcc.gov. Press contact: Justin Cole at (202) 418-8191 or Justin.Cole@fcc.gov. For additional information about the broadcast television incentive auction, visit: https://www.fcc.gov/learn.


10:00 a.m.
Welcoming Remarks – Acting Chairwoman Mignon Clyburn
Commissioner Ajit Pai
10:15 a.m.-11:15 a.m.

Panel 1:  Categories of Reimbursable Costs Incurred by Broadcasters
Moderator, Rebecca Hanson, Senior Advisor, Broadcast Spectrum, FCC Media Bureau
Joe Davis, President, Chesapeake RF Consultants
Jane Mago, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, National Association of Broadcasters
Peter Starke, Vice President, Broadcast, American Tower
Joe Zuba, National Sales Manager, Dielectric
11:15 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Break
11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Panel 2:  Strategies to Promote Transition Coordination and Cost Mitigation Among Broadcasters
Moderator, Bill Lake, Chief, FCC Media Bureau
Mark Aitken, Vice President, Advanced Technology, Sinclair Broadcast Group
David Donovan, President, New York State Broadcasters Association
Erin Dozier, Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel, National Association of Broadcasters
Robert Kelly, Partner, Squire Sanders
Lonna Thompson, Executive Vice President, Association of Public Television Stations