U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Commissioner Starks: Future of Work Roundtable

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm EST
Commission Meeting Room, 445 12th Street, SW, Washington, DC

Office of FCC Commissioner Geoffrey Starks, Future of Work Roundtable, February 11, 2020, 1:00-2:00 PM. Click for larger image

This event convened a group from civil society, academia, and industry to orient the FCC's role in the Future of Work conversation.


1:00 PM — Welcoming Remarks from Commissioner Starks & Introductions

1:15 PM — Defining the Future of Work
Spencer Overton, President, Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

1:20 PM — Mapping Out the Challenges of the Future of Work
Discussion Moderated by Spencer Overton
Panelists will discuss what communities are impacted by the lack of access to broadband and how that affects their participation in a technologically advanced workforce

1:50 PM — A Call for Policy and Industry Solutions for the Future of Work
Jamie Susskind, Vice President of Policy & Regulatory Affairs, Consumer Technology Association

1:55 PM — Identifying and Developing Sustainable Solutions for the Future of Work
Discussion Moderated by Jamie Susskind
Panelists will identify broadband access and adoption solutions coupled with solutions for upskilling and reskilling workers at risk of displacement

2:25 PM — Audience Q&A

2:30 PM — Closing Remarks from Commissioner Starks


  • Vikrum Aiyer, Postmates
  • Jana Barresi, Walmart
  • Mary Clagett, Jobs for the Future
  • Kayla Gardner, Wireless Infrastructure Association
  • Alan Hanson, United Food & Commercial Workers Local 400
  • Nicole Isaac, LinkedIn
  • Mary Alice McCarthy, New America
  • Dr. Mona Mourshed, Generation
  • Francella Ochillo, Next Century Cities
  • Clint Odom, National Urban League
  • Kelsey Odom, Consumer Technology Association
  • Jason Oliver, AT&T
  • Spencer Overton, Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
  • Guru Sethupathy, Capital One
  • Jamie Susskind, Consumer Technology Association
  • Stephanie Sykes, African American Mayors Association
  • Yolanda Townsend, Opportunity at Work
  • Miriam Vogel, Equal AI
  • Ardine Williams, Amazon

Related Materials