U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Consumer Advisory Committee Meeting – April 2022

1:00 pm - 5:00 pm EDT
Online Only

At this meeting, the Committee heard from FCC staff regarding matters of interest to consumers and considered and approved recommendations regarding Consumer Broadband Labels.

This meeting was conducted using an Internet videoconference platform that was open to members of the public and available via live stream at www.fcc.gov/live.  The FCC posted about the event on the agency’s social media channels, including Twitter (@FCC) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/fcc), in advance of the event and during the live stream.  Members of the public were able to submit questions during the meeting to livequestions@fcc.gov.

Open captioning was provided for the live stream.  Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities were available upon request.  To request materials in accessible formats for people with disabilities (Braille, large print, electronic files, audio format), send an e-mail to: FCC504@fcc.gov or call the FCC’s Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice).

For more information about the Consumer Advisory Committee, visit the CAC webpage at www.fcc.gov/consumer-advisory-committee, or contact Scott Marshall, Designated Federal Officer, by phone at (202) 418-2809 (voice or relay), email at scott.marshall@fcc.gov, or, Gregory V. Haledjian, Deputy Designated Federal Officer, by phone at (202) 418-7440 (voice or relay), email at gregory.haledjian@fcc.gov.

Meeting Agenda

I. Welcome and Introductions (1 pm)

Steve Pociask, Chair, Consumer Advisory Committee

A. Welcome from Commission Leadership

Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel (via recording)
Commissioner Nathan Simington
Alejandro Roark, Bureau Chief, CGB

B. Roll Call and Member Introductions

Steve Pociask

C. Overview of Meeting Agenda

Steve Pociask and Debra Berlyn, Vice Chair, Consumer Advisory Committee
Scott Marshall, Designated Federal Officer (DFO), and Greg Haledjian, Deputy DFO

II. Recommendation on Consumer Broadband Labels (1:30 pm)

A. Presentation of the Draft Recommendation

WG Chair Debra Berlyn (Project Goal) and WG members Linda Vandeloop (AT&T) and Jonathan Schwantes (Consumer Reports)

B.  Member Discussion and Debate

Debra Berlyn, Linda Vandeloop, and Jonathan Schwantes

III. Welcome from Commissioner Brendan Carr (2 pm)

IV. Recommendation on Consumer Broadband Labels, Continued (2:10 pm)

A. Member Discussion and Debate

Debra Berlyn, Linda Vandeloop, and Jonathan Schwantes

B. Voting

Steve Pociask

V. Questions/Comments From the Public and Wrap-Up (2:50 pm)

Steve Pociask, Debra Berlyn, Scott Marshall, and Greg Haledjian

VI. Adjournment

Related Materials

Public Notice Announcing Meeting

Committee Recommendations Regarding Consumer Broadband Labels



Scott Marshall
Designated Federal Officer
(202) 418-2809 (voice or relay)

Gregory V. Haledjian
Deputy Designated Federal Officer
(202) 418-7440 (voice or relay)