U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Alerting Security Roundtable

9:30 am - 3:00 pm EDT
Commission Meeting Room, FCC Headquarters, 45 L Street NE, Washington, DC 20554


The Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau in conjunction with the Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency hosted this Alerting Security Roundtable. The event focused on cybersecurity in alerting, risk management frameworks as well as the cost and benefits of implementing these in incident reporting for alerting.


9:30 AM
Call to Order & Welcome

  • Debra Jordan, Chief, PSHSB, FCC
  • Jessica Rosenworcel, Chairwoman, FCC

9:45 AM
Panel 1: The Need for Cybersecurity in Alerting


  • Kenneth Chew, Unit Chief, Cyber Division, Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Scott Deutchman, Senior Policy Advisor, Government Affairs and Public Policy, Google
  • Stephen Hayes, Director of Standards Ericsson North America
  • Sean Letona, Section Chief, Cybersecurity Division, CISA
  • Nick Narine, Program Manager, Public Warning, New York City Emergency Management
  • Christopher Oatway, Associate General Counsel, Verizon
  • Brian Scott, Deputy Assistant, National Cyber Director for Cyber Policy and Program, Office of the National Cyber Director
  • Wade Witmer, Deputy Director, Integrated Public Alert & Warning System, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)


  • Michael George, Associate Administrator for the Office of National Continuity Programs, FEMA
  • Debra Jordan, Chief, PSHSB, FCC

10:45 AM — BREAK

10:55 AM
Panel 2: Cybersecurity Risk Management and Safeguards


  • Kathryn Basinsky, Telecommunications Policy Specialist, National Telecommunications and Information Administration
  • Brian Daly, Assistant Vice President, Wireless Technology & Standards, AT&T
  • Christian Lowry, Section Chief, National Risk Management Center, CISA
  • Seamus Mooney, Emergency Management Coordinator, Fairfax County Department of Emergency Management and Security
  • Geary Morrill, Midwest/Eastern Regional Director of Engineering, Alpha Media
  • Harold Price, President, Sage Alerting Systems Inc.
  • Kevin Stine, Chief, Applied Cybersecurity Division, Information Technology Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology


  • Jeff Goldthorp, Associate Bureau Chief and Chief Data Officer, PSHSB

11:45 AM
Keynote Address

  • Eric Goldstein, Executive Assistant Director for Cybersecurity, CISA

12:00 PM — LUNCH

1:25 PM
Panel 3: Cyber Incident Reporting


  • Shilpa Bhanot, Director of Systems Architecture, T-Mobile
  • William Flagler, Director, Arlington County Department of Public Safety Communications and Emergency Management
  • Mike Kelley, VP, Chief Information Security Officer, The E.W. Scripps Company
  • Todd Klessman, Cyber Incident Reporting for Critical Infrastructure Act (CIRCIA) Rulemaking Team Lead, CISA
  • Mark Lucero, Senior Program Manager and Engineering Branch Chief, Integrated Public Alert & Warning System, FEMA
  • Clint Osborn, Interim Director, DC Homeland Security and Emergency ManagementAgency
  • Harry Perper, Principal Cybersecurity Technologist, MITRE Corporation


  • Ken Carlberg, Chief Technology Officer, PSHSB, FCC
  • Steven Carpenter, Technical Advisor, PSHSB, FCC

2:15 PM — BREAK

2:25 PM
Panel 4: Cost Burden Analysis


  • Edward Czarnecki, Vice President, Global and Government Affairs, Digital Alert Systems, Inc.
  • Curtis Dukes, Executive Vice President and General Manager, Center for Security
  • Robert J. Folliard III, Senior Vice President, Government Relations & Distribution, Gray Television, Inc.
  • Dana Golub, Vice President, Technology Business Operations, Public Broadcasting Service
  • Lauren Boas Hayes, Senior Advisor, Cybersecurity Division, CISA
  • Francisco Sanchez, Associate Administrator, Office of Disaster Recovery and Resilience, Small Business Administration
  • Angela Simpson, General Counsel and Senior Vice President, Legal and Regulatory Affairs, Competitive Carriers Association


  • Austin Randazzo, Associate Chief, PSHSB, FCC
  • Patrick Sun, Economist, Office of Economics and Analytics, FCC

3:05 PM
Closing Remarks

  • Billy Bob Brown, Executive Assistant Director for Emergency Communications, CISA
  • Debra Jordan, Chief, PSHSB, FCC

Related Material