The mission of the Office of the Secretary facilitates the Commission's decision making process by:

  • maintaining materials for the Commission's open, circulate and closed meetings;
  • giving effective legal notice of Commission decisions through publications in the Federal Register and FCC Record;
  • giving public notice of ex parte presentations in permit-but-disclose proceedings;
  • processing all docketed and non-docketed filings that the Commission receives in paper, electronic, and alternative media formats;
  • making recommendations to streamline the Commission's workflow through the use of electronic information management systems; and
  • administering the FCC Library collection.

The Office of the Secretary's major functions are divided among the Agenda and Publications Group, the Information Resources Group, and the FCC Library.

Selected Biographical Information

Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary
Marlene H. Dortch was named Secretary of the Federal Communications Commission, effective April 18, 2002.

Ms. Dortch has been Acting Director of the Office of Communications Business Opportunities (OCBO) since June 2001. Prior to that position, she was Chief of the Equal Employment Opportunity Staff in the Commission's former Mass Media Bureau. She was also an attorney-advisor in the Television Branch of the Bureau's Video Services Division.

She holds a J.D. degree from the Ohio State University College of Law and an A.B. from Georgetown University.

Ms. Dortch lives in Maryland with her husband and son.

Sheryl A. Segal, Associate Secretary for Information Resources
Sheryl A. Segal is the Information Resources Group Manager. You may contact her regarding the Electronic Documents Management Systems (EDOCS) and IRG matters. The phone number is (202) 418-0234. The office is located at 45 L Street NE, Washington, DC 20554.