SECC Quick Links

 

Chairs

State Emergency Communications Committees, or SECCs, are volunteer non-governmental organizations that develop plans for administering the Emergency Alert System in each state. Committee members typically represent EAS participants, such as broadcasters and cable companies, and may also include state and local government officials. The Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau provides this list of SECCs as a resource for Emergency Alert System stakeholders.

Alabama

Larry J. Wilkins
2180 Parkway Lake Dr, Hoover, AL 35244
phone: 334-303-2525
fax: 334-365-8923
mobile: 334-303-2525
Email: larrywilkins@charter.net

Frank Giardina
Vice Chairman
Cumulus Media-Birmingham
244 Goodwin Crest Drive, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone: 205-873-2126
Mobile: None

Alaska

Dennis Bookey
9740 Jupiter Dr,  Anchorage, AK 99507
Phone: 907-529-5266
Mobile: None
Email: dbookey@aol.com

American Samoa

Pauga Joey Cummings
KKHJ-FM/WVUV-FM/KKBT-FM
Chairman - A.S. EAS Committee
PO Box 6758 Pago Pago, AS  96799
Phone: 684-633-7793
Email: joey@southseasbroadcasting.com

Arizona

Richard Langevin
Co-Chair
EOC Technology Analyst
Maricopa County Emergency Management
5630 E McDowell Rd Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone: 602-273-1411
Fax: 602-275-1638
Mobile: None
Email:  richard.langevin@maricopa.gov

Dennis Bietry
Co-Chair
Communications Branch - Emergency Management
Arizona Department of Emergency & Military Affairs (AZDEMA)
5636 E McDowell Rd Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone: 602-464-6301
Fax: 602-464-6250
Email: dennis.bietry@azdema.gov

Larry Paulausky
Vice Chair
(Primary FCC, broadcast station & cable system contact)
Chief Engineer KTAR Radio
7740 N 16th St, Suite 200 Phoenix, AZ 85020-4482
Phone:  602-200-2611
Fax:  602-464-5593
Email:  lpaulausky@bonneville.com

Arkansas

Chris Daniel
Arkansas SECC
2024 Arkansas Valley Dr. Suite 403, Little Rock, AR  72212
Phone: 479-234-5428
Mobile: None
Email: eas@arkbroadcasters.org

California

Richard Rudman
CA SECC Chair
1046 Corte La Brisa, Santa Paula, CA  93060
Email: rar01@mac.com

Colorado

Matt G. Pearce
Mile High Region Engineering, FCC Compliance
1601 Mile High Stadium Cir, Denver, CO 80204
Phone: 303-603-1563
Mobile: 720-245-0732
Email: matt_pearce@comcast.com

Connecticut

Jeff Hugabonne
Chairperson
mobile: 860 508-2621
Email: jrhugabonne@gmail.com

Dean Maluski
Vice Chair
Mobile:  860-888-4858
Email:  dmaluski@gmail.com
 

Delaware

Walt Palmer
EAS Chair
Email: walt.palmer@wgmd.com

Walt Barcus
EAS Vice Chair
Email: wbarcus@wrde.com

Ken Evans
Secretary
Email: ken_evans@wmdt.com

A.J. Schall
Director DEMA
Delaware Emergency Management Agency (DEMA)
165 Brick Store Landing Road, Smyrna, DE 19977
Phone: 302-659-3362
Fax: 302-659-6855
Email: a.j.schall@deleware.gov

District of Columbia

Eric Hoehn
SiriusXM
1500 Ekington Place, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20002
Phone: 202-380-4109
Mobile: None
Email: Eric.hoehn@sbe37.org

Brian Oliger
WTOP
5425 Wisconsin Ave, 5th Floor
Chevy Chase, Md 20815
Phone: 202-895-5131

Florida

C.P. (Pat) Roberts
Florida Association of Broadcasters
201 S. Monroe, Suite 201, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: 850-681-6444
Mobile: 850-212-5511
Email: cproberts@fab.org

Georgia

Bob Houghton
President, Georgia Association of Broadcasters
6 West Druid Hills Drive Atlanta, GA 30329
Phone: 770-395-7200
Fax: 770-395-7235
Mobile: 404-219-7928
Email: bhoughton@gab.org

Guam

Ed Poppe
General Manager, Station KSTO
P.O. Box 20249 Guam Main Facility 96921
Phone: 671-477-7108/9448
Fax: 671-477-6411
Mobile: None

Hawaii

Chris Leonard
1145 Kilauea Ave. Hilo, HI  96720
Phone: 808-935-5461
Mobile: 808-930-7508
Email: chris@kwxx.com

Idaho

David Turnmire
Chief Engineer, KISU-TV (Idaho Public TV)
Idaho Public Television, Campus Box 8111, Pocatello, ID 83209
Phone: 208-282-3696
Fax: 208-282-2848
Mobile: None
Email: davelturn@gmail.com

Illinois

Bill Murdoch
Nexstar Media, WGN Radio
303 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 1800, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 312-222-5093
Mobile: None
Email: bmurdoch@wgnradio.com

Indiana

Dan Mettler
Senior VP, Engineering, Central Region, iHeartMedia
WFBQ/WNDE/WRZX, 6161 Fall Creek Road, Indianapolis, IN 46220
Phone: 317-475-7471
Fax: 317-253-6501
Mobile: None
Email: DanMettler@iHeartMedia.com

Iowa

Joseph Schloss - EAS Co-Chairperson
Station KICD
P.O. Box 260 Spencer, IA 51301
Phone: 712-262-1240
Fax: 712-262-5821
Mobile: 712-262-5821
Email: joeschloss@spencerradiogroup.com

Jim Davies - EAS Co-Chairperson
KSUI
710 S. Clinton St Bldg Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5740
Fax: None
Mobile: None
Email:  jim-davies@uiowa.edu

Kansas

Roy Baum
WIBW Radio
Topeka, KS
Phone: 785-256-0580
Fax: 785-225-7282
Mobile: 785-231-8666
Email: Roy.baum@alphamediausa.com; Roy.baum@radionetworks.com

Kentucky

Scott Cason
Kentucky Broadcasters Association
101 Enterprise Dr
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 866-452-2435
Mobile:
Email: engineering@kba.org

Louisiana

Joey Verrett
IHeartMedia
5555 Hilton Ave., Suite 500 Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone: 225-231-1860
Fax: None
Mobile: None
Email: joeyverrett@iheartmedia.com

Polly Prince Johnson
President/CEO
660 Florida St. Baton Rouge, LA 70801
phone: 225-267-4522

Maine

 

Maryland

Ken Evans
Master Control Supervisor
Marquee Broadcasting
WMDT TV47, WGDV LD32, & WTGA
phone: 410-742-4747 ext 333
Email: ken_evans@wmdt.com

Massachusetts

Mark Manuelian
WGBH
1 Guest Street Boston, MA 02135
Phone: 617-300-3790
Mobile: None
Email: Mark_Manuelian@WGBH.org

Michigan

Gary Blievernicht
WKAR-TV
c/o Michigan Association of Broadcasters
820 Capitol North Ave. Lansing, MI 48906
Phone: 517-884-4720
Fax: 517-484-5810
Mobile: 989-307-0781
Email: garyb@wkar.org

Minnesota

Denny Hansen
480 Cedar Street St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: 651-290-1323
Mobile: None
Email: dhansen@mpr.org

Mississippi

Scott Shepperd
Director of Engineering
3436 Old Hwy 45 North Meridian, MS  39301
phone: 601-703-0532
mobile: None
Email:  None

Missouri

Bob Moore
23118 Paradise Dr
Lebanon, MO65536
Phone: 417-718-5213
Fax: None
Mobile: None
Email: SECC@mbaweb.org

Montana

Thomas Munsey
State Emergency Preparedness Program Manager
Statewide Interoperability Coordinator
Phone: 406-444-1462
Mobile: None
Email: tmunsey@mt.gov

Dewey Bruce
President/CEO,
Montana Broadcasters Association
18 Ruby Mountain Rd. / Clancy, MT 59634
Phone: 406-431-2139
Email: dbruce@mtbroadcasters.org

Nebraska

Al Krause
Nebraska SECC Chair
Network Operations Manager - Nebraska Public Media
Phone: 402-470-6345
Email: akrause@nebraskapublicmedia.org

Nevada

Adrienne Abbott
Weathertop Media Services
3751 E. Nye Ln., Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: 775-750-5987
Mobile: None
Email: NevadaEAS@charter.net

New Hampshire

Edward Brouder
159 Orange Street Manchester, NH 03104
Phone: 603-668-0652
Mobile: None
Email: brouder@grolen.com

New Jersey

Richard Archut
WKDN-FM
295 Hollywood Ave., Monroeville, NJ 08343
Phone: 856-863-2236
Mobile: 865-340-0211
Email: rarchut.njeas@gmail.com

New Mexico

Mike Langner - NM EAS SECC
929 Alameda Road NW, Albuquerque, NM 87114-1901
Phone: 505-898-3212
Mobile: 505-238-8810
Email: mlangner@swcp.com

Mike Snyder - NM Vice Chair EAS SECC
Manager, Broadcast Technical Services, New Mexico PBS
1130 University Blvd NE, Albuquerque NM 87102
phone: 505-277-4691
mobile: 505-270-5482
Email: msnyder@newmexicopbs.org
Twitter: @NMPBSmsnyder

New York

David Donovan
New York Association of Broadcasters
1805 Western Avenue Albany, NY 12203
Phone 518-456-8888
Mobile: None
Email: ddonovan@nysbroadcasters.org

North Carolina

Keith Harrison - EAS Chairperson
WRAL-FM
3100 Highwood Blvd., Raleigh, NC 27604
phone: None
mobile: None
Email: kharrison@wralfm.com

North Dakota

Eric Upton
Emergency Specialist 2
Phone:701-328-8206
701-328-8100
Email: eupton@nd.gov

Ohio

Greg Savoldi
Radio Station WNCI
2323 West 5th Ave – Suite 200, Columbus, OH 43204
phone: 614-487-2485
fax: 614-487-2557
mobile: 614-496-2121
Email:  gregsavoldi@iHeartMedia.com

Dave Ford - EAS Co-Chairperson
Ohio Emergency Management Agency
2855 W. Dublin-Granville, Columbus, OH 43235-2206
phone: 614-889-7154
mobile: None
Email: rdford@dps.state.oh.us

Oklahoma

Roger Herring
KTUL-TV
P.O. Box 8 Tulsa, OK 74101
phone: 918-445-8888
fax: 918-445-9512
mobile: 918-830-0790
Email: rherring@sbgtv.com

Britt Lockhart
KXXY-FM
1900 NW Expressway, Suite 1000 Oklahoma City, OK 73118
Phone: 405-841-0258
Mobile: None
Email: brittlockhart@iheartmedia.com

Oregon

Chris Murray
McKensie River Broadcasting Company
925 Country Club Road Suite 200, Eugene, OR 97401
phone: 541-484-9400
mobile: None
Email: ichabod@kmge.fm

Pennsylvania

Matthew Lightner
Lightner Electronics Inc/Pa Association of Broadcaster
1771 Beaver Dam Road
Claysburg, PA  16625-8913
Phone: 814-239-8323
Fax:  814-239-8402
Mobile: None
Email: matt@lightnerelectronics.com

Puerto Rico

Alfonso Gimenez-Porrata
WPAB Radio
P.O. Box 7243, Ponce, PR 00732-7243
phone: 787-612-0088
mobile: 787-612-0088
Email: agp@wpabradio.com

Rhode Island

Peter T. Gaynor
Rhode Island Emergency Management Agency (RIEMA)
645 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920
phone: 401-462-7116
fax: 401-944-1891
mobile: 401 946-9996
Email: peter.gaynor@ema.ri.gov
Email: emaoperations@ema.ri.gov

South Carolina

John George
Broadtech Services, Inc.
P.O. Box 84025 Lexington, SC 29073
phone: 803-951-7443
fax: 803-951-3123
mobile: None
Email: broadtech@attglobal.net

South Dakota

Steve Willard
South Dakota SECC Chair (Temporary)
President, South Dakota Broadcasters Association
106 West Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 224-1034
E-mail: steve@willardandassociates.com

Tennessee

Mike Murrell
Director of Engineering Services
Tennessee Association of Broadcasters
Two International Plaza Drive, Suite 902 Nashville, TN 37217
Phone: 615-365-1840
Fax: 615-365-1842
Email: engineermike@mindspring.com

Texas

Oscar Rodriguez
Texas Association of Broadcasters
502 E. llth Street Suite 200 Austin, TX 78701
phone: 512-322-9944
mobile: None
Email: Oscar@tab.org

Utah

John Dehnel
2459 Longmeadow Dr. Taylorsville, UT 84129
Phone:  801-558-8355
Email: jogor1160@yahoo.com

Aaron Farnham
KSL
55 North 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone: 801-575-7630
Mobile: 480-227-4409

Vermont

Brett LaRose
Vermont Operations and Logistics Chief
Phone: 802-241-5365
Mobile: 802-798-2673
Email: brett.larose@vermont.gov

Virgin Islands

Rick Ricardo
WVWI/WWKS Radio
No. 1 Crown Bay St. Thomas, U.S. V.I. 00803
phone: 809-776-1000 or 809-774-6397
mobile: None
Email: None

Virginia

Bill Fawcett
Director of Engineering, WMRA Radio
983 Reservoir St. Harrisonvurg VA,  22802
Phone: 540-568-3809
Email:  fawcetwd@jmu.edu

Washington

Clay Freinwald, Chair
Washington State SECC
32521 107th Ave S.E., Auburn, Wa. 98092
phone: 253-939-1414
mobile: 206-947-6115
Email: k7cr@blarg.net

Ted Buehner
Washington State SECC Vice-Chair
18505 12th Drive S.E., Bothell, WA 98012
Phone: None
Mobile: 425-269-9909
Email: tornadoted@comcasat.net

West Virginia

Noel Richardson
West Virginia Radio Company
1111 Virginia St. East Charleston, WV 25301
phone: 304-342-8131 Ext. 604
mobile: 304-533-6900
Email: nrichardson@wvradio.com

Wisconsin

Gary Timm
c/o Wisconsin Broadcasters Association
44. E Mifflin Street, Suite 900, Madison, WI 53703
phone: 608-255-2600
mobile: None
Email: GTEAS@sbcglobal.net

Wyoming

Laura Grott
Wyoming Association of Broadcasters
P.O. Box 1387 Cheyenne, WY 82003
phone: 307-632-6209
fax: 307-683-3464
mobile: 307-214-1782
Email: lauragrott@gmail.com

Approved State EAS Plans

State Date Approved
Illinois June 8, 2022
Nevada August 8, 2022

 

Resources

Updated: 
Friday, August 12, 2022