U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) allow persons who are deaf, hard of hearing, deafblind, or have speech disabilities to communicate by telephone in a manner that is functionally equivalent to telephone services used by persons without such disabilities. Under Title IV of the Americans with Disabilities Act, as amended, the Federal Communications Commission must ensure the provision of TRS. TRS is available in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and all other U.S. territories for local, long distance, and international calls.

In all forms of TRS, communications assistants (CAs) or other authorized intermediaries such as automated speech recognition (ASR) facilitate telephone calls between persons who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have speech disabilities and other individuals. There is no cost to the users. TRS providers are compensated from either a state or a federal fund, which is administered by the TRS Fund Administrator. Some forms of TRS have voice and hearing carry over options so callers may use their own voices or residual hearing if they prefer to do so. The TRS consumer guide discusses foreign language relay services.

There are several types of TRS that are available. For more information about the rules applicable to each type, select one of the following:

General TRS Rules, Guides, and Reports

See TRS History Docket for all TRS documents.

Wednesday, March 20, 2024