Agreement on Mutual Recognition between European Economic Area (EEA) European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and the United States of America


The agreement was signed on October 17, 2005. It is intended to streamline the conformity assessment procedures for a wide range of telecommunications equipment and facilitates trade between the U.S. and EEA EFTA member states.

It provides for the mutual recognition of Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs) and mutual acceptance of the results of testing and equipment certification procedures undertaken by those bodies in assessing conformity of equipment to the importing country's Technical Regulations.

This Agreement includes the European Economic Area (EEA) European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries of Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein (known collectively as the EEA EFTA States).


The scope of the agreement includes three product sectors: Telecommunications, Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC), and Recreational Craft.

The scope for the Sectoral annex for telecommunication equipment includes all equipment subject to telecommunications regulations including wire and wireless equipment, network terminal attachments, terrestrial and satellite equipment. For such equipment the MRA covers electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), radio and telephone terminal equipment requirements.

The Sectoral annex for EMC applies to the recognition of CABs for products falling under EMC Directive 2014/130/EU and FCC rules CFR parts 15 and 18.

The Sectoral annex for Radio & Telecommunication Terminal Equipment (R&TTE) applies to the recognition of CABs for products falling under Radio Equipment Directive (2014/53/EU) and FCC Title 47 CFR parts 0-101.

General Information about MRA

The EFTA MRA is a bilateral, multi-sector agreement. The MRA is composed of a framework agreement and three sectoral annexes which mirror the provisions of the 1998 U.S.-EU MRA. The EEA EFTA States are fully integrated into the European Community single market and apply the same regulations as the EU. The agreement permits approved U.S. laboratories to conduct required conformity assessment procedures (e.g., product tests) for designated products according to EEA EFTA requirements.

The EFTA and U.S. meet regularly to discuss implementation and operational issues.

Participating Countries

These member states are eligible to designate CABs:

EMC Annex

  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein

Telecommunications Annex

  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
Links/Supporting Information

The text of the EEA EFTA MRA may be viewed at: