Innovation is one of the core drivers for advancement in accessibility for people with disabilities. The Chairman's Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman's AAA) is an FCC program recognizing products, services, standards and other innovative developments that improve the experience of people with disabilities in telecommunications and technology.

In recognition of this year’s 30th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the 10th anniversary of the Twenty-First Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act (CVAA), the FCC is now soliciting nominations for individuals who have made lasting and impactful contributions to the advancement of accessible communications technologies and services in the fields of policy, advocacy, research, and design.  While in previous years, the Chairman’s AAA has honored emerging and innovative technologies, this year’s awards will recognize the contributions made by those committed to making "rapid, efficient nationwide communication service" available to all individuals.

The 2020 Chairman's AAA is open to any individual person who has worked in the public or private sector. Each nomination should include:

  • The nominated individual’s name, current contact information and organization (if appropriate).
  • The name and contact information of the person submitting the nomination or a notation that the submission is a self-nomination.
  • An explanation of why the individual qualifies for the Chairman's AAA.
  • A description of the nominee's work in support of accessibility in telecommunications and/or broadcast media. Any documentation supporting this work (e.g., media reports, published materials) will help support the nomination.
  • A list of any specific efforts, products, policies or materials resulting from the nominee's work in this space.

Please send all nominations to: by 11:59 p.m. EDT, September 4, 2020. Award winners will be recognized at a ceremony to be held in October 2020. Details, including exact time and location of the ceremony, will be announced at a later date.

The Chairman’s AAA was first introduced in 2010 at the FCC’s celebration of the 20th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Since the first award ceremony in 2011, the Chairman's AAA has played a key role in FCC efforts to recognize technical advances that have made communications tools more accessible to people with disabilities. The Chairman’s AAA has been awarded on eight occasions to recognize outstanding private and public-sector innovations designed to advance accessibility for people with disabilities.

For questions or inquiries about the Chairman’s AAA please contact Deandrea Wilson (202-391-6266), Chantal Virgile (202-418-0056) or call the ASL Consumer Support Line at 1-844-432-2275 via videophone. Inquiries may also be sent to

Past Winners

Winners received a plaque from the FCC and are commemorated on a permanent plaque on display at FCC Headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Monday, August 3, 2020